Can you help me? What do you know about flight assistance for blind people?

in #life6 years ago

I am flying to Vietnam! At least, that is the idea. The tricky part is my visual impairment. I cannot read any signs and I will for sure get completely lost when I find myself on an airport alone. However, there is no direct flight from the Netherlands which means that I have to make a stop somewhere.   

This post is a request to you, for those who have more knowledge/experience with flying or for those of you who have heard about flight assistance from others. What are your tips for me?   

           

Here is the story so far.  

 I recently graduated and so did one of my sisters. She will be traveling in Asia for a few months. My sister said to me: why don’t you come visit me for a few weeks? I said: sure, why not? The thing is, we were supposed to go to Thailand (with a direct flight to the destination) but due to stuff with her visa our new idea was to go to Vietnam.   

However… I have a vision of 5% and I am not letting it stop me from traveling. But not being able to read any signs or find my way in an airport is kinda tricky when wanting to go to Vietnam haha. I once traveled from the Netherlands to Malaga (spain) and when booking my flight I asked for flight assistance. They will pick you up on the airport, put you safely in your plane, pick you up after landing and will safely bring you to the exit of he airport. I did this just once on a really small airport where my mother got to stay with me until the last stop on the airport .   

When flying to Vietnam, I have to make a stop in England and China (I believe) but I really fear that something will go wrong, that even if I ask for flight assistance.. they will forget me or that I can’t find the right people to ask for help.   

What is your experience with flight assistance? Does it also work in-between flights? Should I go for it? Or should I choose another destination with a flight that goes directly to where I need to be?   

I can tell you one thing. I WILL GO TO VIETNAM! I only want to know how worried I should be about getting there in one piece haha.   

I would really love your advice!  

Sort:  

@boosje123 Got a 48.07% Vote via @klye

Send any amount of STEEM or SBD Over 1.000 & Recieve a RANDOM @klye VOTE
Make sure to include the link to your post in the memo field of the transfer!
( Any amounts < 1.000 STEEM or SBD will be considered donations )
Vote power is Generated via RNG (Random Number Generator)

I say congratulate you and your sister who just graduated

Thanks! After all that studying I feel like I can finally live again! Haha

Hahaha, keep the spirit

I don't have idea for help blind people

That's okay, thanks for giving a comment anyway ;)

Ah...flying with Stargardt's. Good times. I was taken by wheelchair to my gate where I waited, and waited, and waited. I finally got up and asked at the desk. She said, "Oh no! They brought you to the wrong gate! Your flight is almost done boarding!" Luckily the doors weren't shut yet. They had to run me out on the tarmac to get on!! Nothing gives me more anxiety than traveling. You have to depend on others and it sucks because they mess up!
Best of luck to you! Just be honest with people about any anxieties and double, triple check every step!

Ohnoooo! That is horrible! That is exactly where I am afraid for...
The one time I flew with flight assistence, they picked me up with a wheelchair too haha, it was standard protocol. I put my bag on it and walked next to it.
I just want that people don't mess up! Because then it is my problem and that sucks haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67651.30
ETH 3269.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64