Sort:  

Lucky for you. I was spanked since infancy - I couldn't stop bawling, and my father said I was screaming, so he spanked me to shut me up. Than I appeared to be a mute until 2 or 3 years of age, when I "couldn't stop talking" after that. Very few of my punishments were standing in the corner. Most all of them were spankings, and it only slowly made me see my father in a different light. Other than that he wasn't really approachable and he never showed affection much at all. Maybe, occasionally. When I grew older, I shoplifted candy and spanking only stopped me from doing that for the time being. I was very restricted on a lot of things, and I once stole a DVD, which he never found out about. My father now has a stepdaughter of 4 years of age in the Philippines, and he has the mother to do the spanking for him. Even his verbal affection sounds fake, but it does slightly hurt to hear it from him to another child. I wonder what she would think once she's older, when she finds out he's not her biological father.

Anyway, I love this article. I couldn't have said it any better myself. I'm against spanking. It's a shame my sisters don't know what "discipline with love," as they call my ideas for parenting, is. My whole family thinks I'd spoil my children if I had any. Too bad I have a severe disability now, one that can't be cured.

That's really too bad you had to grow up like that. It's really sad how much of society thinks these kinds of actions are okay. I see friends on Facebook with their pro-spanking memes, and then the next week they are posting how their kid about burned their house down or other mischievous things they did. I wonder if they even consider spanking can cause a child to act out. That's too bad you don't/can't have kids to break the cycle.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56991.40
ETH 2350.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40