Korean Style Sauna Jimjilbang Story / Life PhotographysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Jimjilbang is a Korean style sauna.

Jimjilbang is a compound word that combines Jimjil and Bang. Jimjil refers to a steam pack to loosen knotted muscles and bang means room. JImmilbang is a kind of a place to play and relax with family and friends.

 It''s an integrated recreational space with many saunas. Each room has a special feature, and you can go into the room you want to sweat and relax in. Some people watch movies, read or even exercise. It usually has a restaurant and a bath, so you can have a meal during saunas and take a bath before or after the saunas.

I usually go to a jimjilbang to relax once a week if it's possible. Various steaming makes my skin very soft and healthy. If you go into a specific room and stay for more than 10 minutes, you will get a sweaty feeling. Really sweat.

Let's look inside of a Jimjilbang I used to go.

The jjimjilbang is a complex facility with swimming pool and fitness center, can be used as a member if you want.

There's a kid's place. Some restaurants, cafes and jimjilbangs have a similar kid's place to give some time to mothers in Korea.

There is a smoking room.

 Each steaming room in jimjilbangs has a special feature such as stone, herbs, ice, charcoal and ocher soil and so on. I heard that ocher soil emits far-infrared radiation.

I usually stay in a room about 10 to 20 minutes and go out. I enjoy repeating it many times. 



These are my favorite foods, baked eggs and Shike. Shike is a traditional Korean beverage made with rice. I really like the sweet taste. It is a different sweet with chocolate.

It was an herb room.

There was an hourglass measuring 10 minutes inside of a room.

The towel on my head is Yangmohri. Yang means sheep, and mohri means head, so Yangmohri means sheep's head. It is made by rolling a towel. We make it to use for fun in Jimjilbang.


How to make Yangmohri?



I hope you enjoyed a story of Jimjilbang. I went to a Jimjilbang in the US too, but my satisfaction was different. When you visit Korea, don't forget to add Jimjilbang to your tour list.

@bontonstory


Sort:  

I need to upgrade my sauna experiences, this looks awesome. Wonderful interiors, herbs and refreshments, wow!

Thank you so so much @opheliafu...Visit Korea! :D

Sauna and swedish massage are definitely a MUST in life..every week? Oh yes please!
Nice @bontonstory, there's a few in London though our spa neighbor isn't as nicely-looking like yours. Do you use the icy pool??

I know that Korean style sauna is very different. Some saunas have an outdoor service. In the Sauna, there's a dry part and a wet part. There are some big bathtubs in the wet place for hot water and cold water as a pool. We have to be naked in the wet place. Men and women separtely. I found out a new sauna in a different city, it looked really big and nice. If it is possible, I'll share the pictures later too :)

The one near us have both dry and wet areas, having different sex on different days. The icy pool is about 10 x 15 ft more or less, no one wants to stay longer after one dip :) it's bloody cold that i'd rather scrub myself with ice chips.

Oh, I missed that one. Some saunas have an icy room. I remember there was no ice, only chilly. I can't stay in there more than a minute. Men and women use the dry area together, and go separately to bathe. There could be a little wet sauna room inside of the wet place too. I wonder your sauna. I want to try to use the icy pool. Probably, I'll shout in the pool lol

That you have to try. Ice chips are floating so it's that icy. Just dip up to the neck...dunno if it's advisable to dip the head too. I didn't feel right after that. Though i didn't mind the cold water shower.

You rock girl! Can we have more of Korean food pls???

Foods pics accepted! :)

Bring them on!

Thank you for posting @bontonstory.

Lovely photographs and commentary to introduce one to the benefits of the sauna. Really of benefit to the skin as you have stated.....was not familiar with the social side of it....appreciate your insight.

All the best. A bientot.

Hi, @bleujay :D I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. See you in your blog later :)

Beautiful story and pictures! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Hello, @michaelstobiersk. Where were you? :)
Thank you for coming.

Hi! I am working on a project that doesn't leave much free time. I hope you are doing well. ♡♡♡♡♡😎

Working hard? :) Take good care of you. Health is the first of all :)

Great post!
When I lived in Los Angeles I would try and visit a sauna once a week... But here in NYC it's just not part of the lifestyle. I definitely miss it!

You can find it in NJ and NY too :) Thank you for coming.

Im going to look for one in NY. I'll let you know how it was...

Thank you :)
There is King sauna in New Jersey. Spa castle in Queens probably is the biggest. I heard there's New York sapa/ sauna in NY now. I think that one is new.

I'd love to try this kind of wellness! But I have another, different opportunity! This weekend I'll go to a sweat hut to Miskolc (280 km from here, Szekesfehervar). I'm very curious about that! We'll sweat for 1 or 2 hours, then run out to bathe in the snow. Maybe, I'll take some photographs, and post them on Steemit.

I'll look forward to seeing the pictures. Thank you for coming :)

What prices are?

Prices depend on the quality. KRW 8000~20000 (us$7~us$17), Extra payment for foods, massage and other services.

Looks very relaxing, could use a sauna right now... :)

:)))) I understand :)) Look forward to seeing another interesting your @ourlifestory soon. :) See you again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94