ABCDEF - What?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

I could be easily described as someone who you can convince to do anything if she’s hungry. That’s a fact and one of the few things that I can say about me. I don’t believe in having an introduction about one’s self because I always thought that we can simply sugarcoat what we want other people to think of us and I don’t want to set your expectations about me too high so I am keeping this simple. Hi! I’m Jane and this is one of my few stories. First up, how I got my first tattoo.

It was October 2015 when I embarked to one of the confusing/best days of my life. Traveled almost 19 hours to Buscalan, Kalinga (by land) to be tattooed by the last Mambabatok, Whang Od.

During the early days, Whang Od is known for tattooing Butbut warriors who protected the women and villagers by fighting enemies which is no longer the case now. Instead, Whang Od is now residing quietly with her grand daughter, Grace and tattooing visitors who came to see her not just here in the Philippines but also visitors from other countries.

It was a sunny Saturday morning when I had it. I remember it vividly since we were the first ones who lined up to be touched by an artist. At first I don’t even know what to have since I didn’t plan on getting a tattoo. I was only there accompanying a friend who invited me to go with him on this adventure. He persuaded me and said that this is once in a lifetime experience and I should grab the opportunity to be marked by a traditional tattoo artist which also made sense since I don’t if I’ll have the courage to go back to that place because of time and other whatnots, so just like that, like what told I you about me, I was persuaded and had my very first tattoo.

She used a sharp thorn which is placed to a stick, charcoal and a bamboo which uses as a hammer. I sat in a stool and she’s on my left side doing her magic. Everyone in our group is quietly watching while she is doing her magic. All you can hear is the ‘tok tok tok’ of the bamboo stick every time she hammers it to get the charcoal ink embedded to my skin. It was not that painful (that’s my opinion, tho it varies. I think I have a very high tolerance of pain.) After 20-30 minutes, I now have a traditional Butbut symbol marked on me.

4D84AB06-0B9E-4AB9-A1B5-C4F89C1DDDDF.jpeg

I had the Butbut tribe’s symbol for Scorpion

The experience is unbelievable. Up to this day this is still one of my favourite story to share. The journey getting there, the people you meet during the stay and the stories are priceless. Being able to see Whang Od’s craft and experience it first hand is definitely one for the books.

I am hoping to share more of these to you! Peace out!

More to come!

Jane

Sort:  

image

Welcome for you to steemit platform, we wait contribution and your creative content, hopefully you can contribute as well as possible here, and hopefully you feel at home writing here. 😎😎😎

Thank you for the welcome! I will try my best to share and enteratin you with my story guys! 😊

If you want to get 0.350 worth vote see my profile description and if you want to get more then 2 to 6 dollar worth vote contect me on skype
Skype id ( [email protected] ). bonitabanana

Welcome to Steemit!
I hope you get to enjoy being engaged in this growing community. I’m sure you’ll have a whale of a time.
Hope to hear more from you! See you around more oft @bonitabanana!

Thank you for the warm welcome, Larni! I hope to share all my adventures here!

welcome to steemit 😀

Thank you! I look forward to sharing more of my stories to you guys! 😊

nice adventure! :)

Thank you! 😊

It is good that your friend was able to convince you to get the tattoo. Was it really the sunny Sunday morn' that you vividly remember? LOL...Welcome to the community! To more posts especially travel blogs from you sistah!

I have no words. No words. Hahahaha! You necessary evil! 😂

@bonitabanana, Hahaha! I guess you had a great experience with Whang Od! 😂 Welcome. KEEP STEEMING! 😘

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46