Sort:  

Wow, I often eat alone in restaurants and never thought to be embarrassed or self conscious, but after reading that I have a sudden well of shame in my belly... better go fill it with some lunch. "Table for one please!"

I've never had a problem eating alone because if I waited for family or friends to be available then I would never go out! There was this one time when I was attending a conference in NYC. The group I was in took off without me. Refusing to eat at McD's or Subway, I found a delightful Italian restaurant. I was the ONLY patron. Let me tell you - I had 4 incredibly handsome waiters catering to me. I had such a lovely experience that I think the tip was larger than my bill. LOL I would do it again in a heartbeat for the quality of food and service and I'm perfectly happy keeping my own company. :)

.

I agree! One of my friends actually responded that it "was sad" that I went to the movies by myself. really? I'm not talking to anyone while watching, right? Going out alone is definitely an exercise in confidence.

I haven't been for a while but I used to love going to film festival movies by myself, often during the day in a half empty cinema. I felt much more absorbed in the movie that way.

Omg I know right I have this debate with my male friends all the time they get so embarrassed doing things alone I even had one guy flip because he had to wait at the bowling bar for a few minutes before me and some other friends arrived.

.

Excellent post my friend @bola, this style suits you very well. Congratulations.

Thank you.

Yep. I've done it quite a bit when traveling. Usually it's a pleasant experience. I've never had to wonder if I should grab the tab when it's just me either.

I eat alone often but usually at cafes. I have my phone or book with me and don't feel too bad.

After a businessmeeting in Frankfurt I ate alone in the hotel. The dining room was very busy and after ten minutes or so a waitress asked if I would mind sharing my table. I agreed and spent the rest of the evening with a delightful young lady from Madrid. More than twenty years later we still meet once or twice a year.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61282.12
ETH 2375.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55