C'thulhu Told Me To Recycle My Plastics

in #life7 years ago (edited)

C'Thulhu.jpg

C’thulu Told Me To Recycle My Plastics

Everyone should be very familiar with “global warming”, well I am old enough to remember “global cooling”. In all of my 41 years on this planet, I have been bombarded by fears from all angles. From the cold war, I remember having nuclear bomb drills and having to hide under my desk with all the other small children. It gave me nightmares for years that the world was about to be destroyed in a fiery blast from some communist threat that wanted nothing less than to destroy my simple American life. All the way to today when I read my science articles and the biggest threat is from Elon Musk saying that we have to stop working on Artificial Intelligence now before its too late. According to some, Skynet is about to go live and enslave mankind for all of eternity.

Today, were talking about the fear of global warming or better yet, climate change. According to NASAs website on the subject. Global warming is the increase in Earth’s average surface temperature due to rising levels of greenhouse gases. Climate change on the other hand is the long-term change in the Earth’s climate, or of a region on Earth (Dunbar n.d.). There is a HUGE difference in these to definitions. The first states specifically that the world is getting warmer because of human manipulations, the latter testifies to a natural constant that will happen as the Earth itself changes. I found this nifty chart in a reputable site that shows the past 2000 years, which would constitute GW. One would have to go back much much farther to consider the effects of CC.

Screen Shot 2017-08-23 at 2.16.30 PM.png

The thing is, that all these fears have one thing in common; there is nothing I can do about it. The US government was making nukes along with the Russians, and Elon Musk himself owns an AI company called Open AI where they are pursuing the technology too. Meanwhile, I just keep on keeping on waiting for the next news feed that will give me my next nightmare. Its all quite ridiculous.

Don’t get me wrong, I will sit back and golf clap at your feeble efforts to control the complexities of this global spanning socio-economic industrialized machine that spews out the evil toxic fumes which will evidently one day consume us all, I may even pat you on the back and tell you what a good person you are, perhaps even take a moment of introspection and think, “Gee, I should be doing something like that.” But I won’t, and neither will the coal industry here in the US, or the steel plants in China, or the various textile plants in India. Once again, there is nothing you can do except feel good about yourself knowing you tried to make a change.

I rest easy at night, at least on this subject, knowing that there actually is one thing that will save us all. That is the advancement of science and technology. If we took all the money that is frivolously spent trying to “save the planet” and put it into actual research that can save the planet, that is a change that I could make and support.

So, Is it hot or is it cold? What about the poor sea otters that will all go extinct? Do you care? Well if you do then your a better person than I am, because I really don’t. I drive a hybrid because its cheaper than buying gas all the time. I don't recycle, leave my lights on when I'm not in the room, and I flush my toilet every single time that I take a wiz, sometimes twice (I like asparagus). What I am trying to say is that I spend as little time as possible contemplating global climate change because either way, cold or hot or just right, were all still screwed. If its not the nukes or the robot overlords or an asteroid or the great slumbering C’thulhu then it might just be the temperature.

Dunbar, B. (n.d.). What's in a Name? Global Warming vs. Climate Change. Retrieved August 23, 2017, from https://www.nasa.gov/topics/earth/features/climate_by_any_other_name.html

Loehle, C. 2007. A 2000-year global temperature reconstruction based on non-tree ring proxies. Energy and Environment, 18, 1049-1058.

Sort:  

Yeah, and I have solar panels on top of my house because of the ridiculous tax credits and other credits I got for doing so. Well, not only for the credits themselves, I suppose. I find a certain satisfaction whenever I see my power bill in the heat of summer.

I just have to deal with the well-meaning tree huggers that come around asking about them and commending me. I tell them I used the money I got from the tax credits to put in a new coal burning furnace in the basement for the winter, so I don't have to depend on the natural gas utility. ;)

BAHAHAHAH! That's the greatest line! I have Got to use that one! I have solar panels too! And a coal stove in my garage! Thanks so much for that, ill lock that zinger away for timing.

Yeah, I get a kick out of that too. :)

But, to be clear, I do have solar panels, and I do have to deal with the occasional tree hugger, but I only WISH that I had a coal burning furnace in the basement. If you actually do have one, then you are one up on me. Well done!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us promote your gem of a post!

If you accept this, you'll be nominated and the members of the OCD team will vote on whether we'll feature your post in our next compilation post.

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.


I'm mostly curating in #science and am always glad to see quality posts like yours peeking out between the garbage and plagiarism!

(But please don't abuse the "introduceyourself" tag, it's only there for actual introductions and overusing it will make it harder for new users to connect with the community)

Thank you for taking the time to read my ramblings, I'd love to be featured in your group. Kind words like those are always appreciated.

As far as the introduceyourself tag, I was told to use it on my first three posts, and this was my third one so I am officially a Steemit blogger now! Excited to be a part of something so new and amazing. I hope to have some really great articles in the future.

Thanks again, and have a great day!

Ok great :)
If you're chosen, your post should be featured in the OCD issue # 52, in case you want to keep your eye out for it!

The post has been chosen! Check out the ocd issue of today :)

I am truly honored, thank you so much. You made me smile today!

Congratulations @bojamison! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53991.35
ETH 2418.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.16