You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Seventy-Two Year Relationship With the N-Word

in #life7 years ago (edited)

@majes, In the universe and the larger scheme of things, I think it is silly and absurd to have a discussion about this topic of emotion-laden words and labels. However let me clarify some things for you.
Thanks for the etymology lesson on the N-word. It is rather naive of you to assume that I am unaware of the word’s origin. Anyone who has spent seventy-two years with a word, would have to be stupid not to know the origin of the word. I am not stupid. By the way, just because a word exists in some form in another language doesn’t make it any less negative or emotion-laden in English, my native language.

About your dislike of my book, its title and subtitle, I can only remind you of an old adage to “never judge a book by its cover.” It sounds like you haven’t had enough life-experience to appreciate my book anyway, so please don’t bother, it won’t make sense to you, it is meant for adults.

The tone of your comment seemed to be baiting or daring me into some kind of debate. I am not here to engage in some kind of tit-for-tat debate on race, racism, Black versus White issues. I am not interested in wasting your time or mine discussing the relevance of society’s labels, designed to divide us, categorize us, or evoke negative emotions. My only intention is to share my life experiences with people who can relate to them and gain some value from the sharing of them.

In my opinion the value in the sharing of our human experiences is that we get to see the commonality of our spirits and our ancestry. It seems that you may have to grow into that life-perspective.

In any case, thanks for your comment and bless your heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62579.42
ETH 3010.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.42