$2 Log Nails & Rope Sells For $19

in #life7 years ago

When I was a kid we heated our home with wood, we cooked on a wood cook stove like this one.
wood-cookstove.jpg

I will just say I know about heating with wood the use of wood and the cost of wood for heat.

So the other day I ran across these in the front of a farm store. Yes I still like to go to the farm store even though I do not live on a farm anymore. That is a whole different story.

Here is was I saw in the store.
()

It is nothing more than a debarked pine loge with a hole drilled in one end some slits cut with a saw and a rope handle nailed to it. Total cost of materials about $2 yet it was selling for $19. I could not believe it. So as I was checking out at the register I jokingly said to the lady checking me out "I bet you sell a lot of those logs", nodding over to the pile.

She responded "actually we do we have sold about 5 pallets of them in the last two months,".

I could not believe it. People are actually buying them. They use them when they go camping. Now here is the funny thing about the whole deal those people are paying a 1200% markup on these logs. Its crazy. I think this speaks volumes about society in general when they are willing to pay a 1200% markup on and item that is free to collect in that same area not more than a 5 minute drive away.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63281.14
ETH 2674.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79