Noel the Cat: Closest Thing To HeavensteemCreated with Sketch.

in #life8 years ago (edited)

A dog lovers ode to a cat.

Noel

Noel, a great friend and companion.

So this is Noel, she lived 21 years and crossed the Rainbow Bridge four years ago. I grew up with German Shepherds. I have had dogs all of my life, but Noel stole my heart. She came with my wife who told me Noel was not crazy about her prior boyfriends. Noel and I hit it off right away. She would lay in my lap, pester me for attention, and was very affectionate with me. She was a small cat, not more than 7 lbs. When she died she was 5 lbs. But I miss her every single day. I miss her sitting on my keyboard, licking the top of my head in the middle of the night (check out my introductory post for my picture, you'll see why she liked the top of my head), listening to music with me, or sitting and talking to me.

Putting her to sleep was one of the most terrible things I ever had to do, I still feel like I betrayed her.

She liked the Tears for Fears song Closest Thing to Heaven. It was appropriate and every time I hear it I go back to her sitting in my lap purring. Yeah, I know it is about a woman, but hey this is my ode. :)

So nothing profound or preachy today, just the confessions of a dog lover about his cat.

By the way, am I the only one who wishes that people were as decent and kind as the animals who adopt us?

M.

Photo credits: All photographs were taken with my Canon EOS60D. I took the picture of Noel and my son took the one of me on the Blue Bavarian Bitch.

If you like these entries or have any questions or want to offer encouragement please post a comment or hit the upvote button, while making money is not really my concern I would like to know that I am not shouting into an empty canyon.

Hello! I am Mike K. I am an educator, lifelong student, military vet and wannabe musician. I have a love of history, economics, philosophy and motorcycles. I am quickly moving from minarchy to Christian anarchy philosophically and want people to stop meddling. My debut CD should be out soon!

BMWRider
Riding in Tennessee with my son on the Green Eyed Snake

Sort:  

My husband had the same experience of being more a dog lover, but a cat named Max changed his mind. We still miss Max.

I am a better person because I had Noel in my life. In fact all of my animal companions taught me how to be a better person. :) Thank you for your comment.

I feel sad now... :(

At least some time has passed, as that softens the feels

I made a comment once that it is much worse when we die before our companions do, I have read too many stories about dogs and cats that mourn for their owners.

Dang dude. I feel for you. My two doggies are well past their prime. Their day is soon. Nothing like a loyal and loving pet.

My Sheltie is 11, he is a brilliant dog and it will hurt when he goes. Funny how we allow ourselves to get so attached.

Mike, I'm so sorry for your loss! :(

I was converted to the love of cats by a particular cat who lived next door; you've inspired me to write that story some time soon. ;)

Meanwhile, my friend Amy once assembled this compilation of scriptures that I hope you will find comforting.

I have spent many years studying the bible and contemplating what the promised New Heavens and New Earth will be like, and I've come to some conclusions about my animals. The most important to share with you here is this: I have utter confidence that Jesus my God loves me more than I can comprehend. Consequently, I have become convinced that when I see Him in the glory and ask Him the favor of restoring to me the animals that I have loved in this life, He will do so. ;)

I agree with all you have said. I often say G_d gave us the dog, spelled backwards from what we call Him to remind us of what unconditional love looks like. It is amazing how much our companions love us. I have never met a bad dog or cat, usually if they are "messed up," it is the fault of some human.

Great job in the past month!
Included in Steemprentice Spotlight Top Reputation Gainers Edition for part of the prize pool generated by the post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61020.40
ETH 2603.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65