My Wife... The Realtor!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

My wife and I decided, when we had our first child, that we didn't want a stranger raising our children at a day care, and that it would be best for my wife to be a stay at home mom. This meant for me that I would be working 60-80 hours a week until the children were old enough to go to school, which I was more than happy to do. There is something about working hard to support your family that is very self gratifying. Unfortunately, this meant for my wife that her dream of becoming a realtor would have to be put on hold.

When we decided we were going to be "Floridians" and I was going to take on the job I was offered, we knew it was finally time to get my wife's career rolling. Around August last year, I got my wife into night classes for her to become a realtor. She had a little bit of a rough time going back to school, after a 10 year hiatus, but after the initial adjustment she was on track. She passed the class amongst the top in her class and then scheduled her Florida Licensing Exam. After a couple shots at the exam she finally passed and she couldn't have been happier. She finally had her State license, and was one step closer.


What no one tells you, is that becoming an agent is the easy part. The struggle is after you have your license and you get hired under a broker. You would think that like 99% of every other career in the world, they would train you and help you get your feet wet. Wrong! She was hired by Watson Realty, a fairly large Brokerage in the south eastern US, and after a few online training courses she was thrown to the wolves(or colleagues). She tried asking her fellow realtors if they could help answer some questions she had after the inadequate training she received. She found out quickly that the "family" that she had joined was more like the junkie cousin who always wants a hand out. Everyone of her co-workers responses every time she asked for assistance was


"Yeah I will help you, for 25% of your first commission"


I couldn't believe these people, multiple times I had to talk myself out of going down to the office to have some words with a few of them.

Through all of the struggles, my wife has figured out how to play the game. She is starting to build a good network of prospective buyers and sellers. Yesterday, she closed on her very first home and we could not be happier. We went out to dinner with my family to celebrate. My wife is no longer a certified real estate agent, now she is a Realtor and I couldn't be happier or more proud. All those years of waiting and all the struggling have came to this one moment. The moment that my wife's dream came true. I've no doubt and I'm sure she would agree that it has all been worth it.


Line Break.jpg


Maybe now that she's official, I'll be able to work
a little less and steem a little more!!
Maybe...

Sort:  

Congratulations @bmjman2410! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15