Is Steemit Child's Play?

in #life7 years ago

What do you say when your seven year old is begging to post
on steemit? Do you tell them no and stifle their dreams? Do
you say yes and ignore your reserves?


For the past week, my son has been asking nonstop for me to allow him to post on steemit. While I love the enthusiasm, I'm not sure what to do. On one hand I feel it could be very beneficial for him in the social aspect, as well as the economic lessons it could teach. Also It could be helpful establishing a foundation in writing which will help him in the future. But at the same time I have my concerns. I feel like, as his father, it is my job to act as a "filter" to the real world, only letting the positive through. If I allow him, I feel like there would be no "buffer" to spare his emotional well being.






This is where you come in, fellow steemians. I need your help.


What I'm asking for is your opinion and insight on this. I would really like to hear how you guys feel about a seven year old blogger In the community. I guess the questions that I'm looking for are

  • Have you ever been in this position?


  • Do you think seven is too young?


  • Would Steemit find value in a child's opinion?


  • Would it depend on the child?


"Let him down easy"


I tried to dissuade him by telling him of the hardships of blogging on steemit. I explained how much work goes into even the most simplest of posts. The hours of writing he going to have to invested in some posts. I told him how he's gonna have to really sit and think about his posts and put a lot of effort into them. And, that after all of the effort, its still a game of chance. Your post has to come across the screen at the right moment and catch attention of the right person. This did nothing for my argument, it seemed it only made his interest grow.


So, If you feel that a seven year old should not be on steemit, I'm open for any suggestions you may have that will help me to explain how now might not be a good time, without shattering his dreams of being a "social media sensation".


Thank you for reading and I cannot wait for
some great opinions, as usual.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60808.77
ETH 3368.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47