Some Spring Gardening - Adding some colour to the garden.

in #life6 years ago

Whan it comes to gardening, and keeping plants alive, I'm a bit of black thumb. I can mow, dig, cut, plant, water. Keep plants alive... not my strongest suit. But spring is here, amd we'll hve another crack at it.

IMG_22092018_184347_(600_x_600_pixel).jpg

We haven't quite got to planning and planting flower beds, mostly out of fear they'll turn into a desert (exactly what happened to our last attempt), void of life, but we're okay with a few pots of colour here and there.
IMG_22092018_184406_(600_x_600_pixel).jpg

I pushed the mower up amd down, and did the back lawn as well, while Mrs MJ replace dead or dying plant with new ones. There are a lot of winter weeds about to get rid of as well, so hopefully the weed and feed treatments kick in, and the fertilizer gives the grass a nice boost. It should look good in a couple weeks time. I do need to get my edges done still, but that won't be too tough a job.

The final pot plant arrangement looks pretty good.

IMG_22092018_184433_(600_x_600_pixel).jpg

Mrs MJ also went for a hanging basket this season.

IMG_22092018_184454_(600_x_600_pixel).jpg

Let's hope these plants do better than the last ines!!

After a good few hours enjoying the outdoors, and getting the garden looking a bit better than the neighbour's, reward was an ice cold beer.

IMG_22092018_184544_(350_x_600_pixel).jpg
Note broken coffee machine in background

Note to self: Hurry up and find the parts to fix the coffee machine.

That's is for Saturday. Back to basketball tomorrow for both my boys' grand finals... nerves building!





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Beautiful spot of colour and my compliments to Mrs MJ for the hanging basket of Fuchsia. A favourite of mine. Unfortunately, my thumb is fairly black these days too

Thanks @alphaccino.art. I leave the choice of plants and flowers to Mrs MJ. Hopefully my black thumb doesn't interfere with these ones. I quite like the hanging basket too. Adds something colourful at eye level instead of on the floor. We'll do our best to keep them healthy, and hopefully see it through to spring next year too.

It is certainly nice to be back in Spring bjm. Some colourful arrangements you have there. Hope they make it. SK.

Posted using Partiko Android

It was good to get outside in the sun and do something constructive at home. I hope they make it too🤣

Hearing you. Building a new veggie garden this weekend too. Spring is a great time of the year - but can be hard work. See you round BMJ.

Posted using Partiko Android

Plants always come back to reward you! Flowers or veggies..mood enhancing too:)

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Looks like a lovely yard! I'm not always great at keeping plants alive either, but I do my best. Good luck with yours. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95