Ripping the dash apart in search of a parking permit.

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Last week Mrs MJ somehow got her work parking permit to slide through a tiny gap in the dashboard, and disappear into its depths. Without the permit, she is not able to park at work, and would face a pretty hefty fine if she did. So, today I decided to see if I coud find it.
20180804_165224.jpg

After watching countless youtube videos of the wrong model car's dashboard being taken apart, I decided to just give it a go, and hope I dont break anything. I fiddled around the cover strips by the gearshift, trying to see which end would come off first, and then worked my way up to the top. Nothing would budge. The videos of similar vehicles were all wrong!!

Then one of the coverstrips gave way just a little bit, and i n went the big screwdriver. Pop! The clips all started coming off, and before long I had both sides off.
20180804_165244.jpg

Once those were off, out came the air vents, so I could have a look to see if the parking permit was anywhere in sight.
20180804_165314.jpg

Deep behind those air ducts at the top was a tiny white corner of something. I slid my hand in through the gap, and managed to just get the smallest of grips onto the corner, and slid it out from behind the duct. Got it!!!
20180804_165335.jpg

Amazingly, all this took me little more than 5 minutes tontake apart and put back together. Everything just clips together like a puzzle, not like the old days where everything was bolted or screwed into a metal frame. At least I now know I'll be able to update my radio to something a little more modern, with bluetooth, quite easily now.

I'm not much of a handyman, but I'll take being able to retrieve the permit, and put everything back without anything left over as a win!!

You'll never know what you can do unless you try it at least once.





Team Australia, Team South Africa, and The Alliance banners by @bearone

My Awesome Upboks by @ryivhnn

Sort:  

My favourite part about this - the fact that there's another manual driver out there in this wide, wild world of Australia.

Kudos to your partner. Are you part of the manual driver's club, too?

We're a dying breed!! This is my car she was driving when it happend. Mrs has a big auto SUV, but quite enjoys driving the manual sometimes. I'm trying to convince my son to get his manual license as well. I may disown hom if he doesn't 😜

I decided to learn how to drive in a manual car. I dread the day I ever need to use a hire vehicle, or as I have done already, drive s friend's car that doesn't have a clutch pedal.

I've done it before, and you just don't feel in control without the clutch, gears, and engine braking!

Everyone should learn how to drive a manual, I'm not talking about those paddles behind the steering wheel!

Yeah, having a manual and auto car here, I sometimes get mixed up, either looking for a clutch, or almost stalling out at traffic lights 😂😂

Definitely count that as a win XD Yay for being able to find it, how does something that even happen lol XD And the double yay for knowing you'll be able to upgrade the sound system easily in the future :)

Haha, she tried to pick it up off the dash, but is slid through the gap before she could lift the corner.... I guess that's how it worked!

I have to say, wives are frustrating! I had to pull apart my wife's car to get out a pen that had slid into a space that was stopping her glovebox from shutting......

Never had that, but yeah having to rip apart the cat car to get to something isn't so much fun, unless it's for an upgraded gadget!

Rip apart the cat???? That sounds... messy. 🐱 😁

Hahaha!!! Fat thumbs again... fixed 😊

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55