Why they used to swaddle children in the Middle Ages

in #life7 years ago

IMG_2246.JPG

I took this in a castle in Holland, I think it was Kasteel Den Haar. Apparently they used to swaddle, or wrap babies up tightly in the middle ages because rickets was quite common due to their diet. Kids could easily break brittle bones, so this practice was to protect them until they got a little older. I don't know if they understood that diet was the main cause, or whether they just did not have appropriate foods.

Sort:  

Congratulations @bluesbro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I do this with my girlfriends. Every damn time they annoy me I roll them into a blanket like a taco, give them a hot chocolate and tell them to shut up. Works like a charm.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63578.99
ETH 2611.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85