Life List #7 Join a Corvette Car Club and go on a Run

in #life7 years ago

IMG_4513.JPG

I have always wanted a Corvette. As a kid I had a tiny model one and looked at the real ones with awe. I bought books and as an adult bought a larger model that sat on my office desk until one day it disappeared.

When the oncologist told me "You have cancer" I started thinking about how much life I had left and which of my dreams were just that and which ones were achievable. I bought a Corvette.

One day about a year and a half ago I was at the hospital for my radiation treatment sitting in a waiting room with other patients and two of them told me they had also bought their dream cars. Well actually one of them was taken outside by her husband and found her dream car outside with a massive ribbon around it. Is that awesome or what?

So the other thing I thought was, wouldn't it be cool to join a club and go on some runs and I decided to do it, but one of the things that happens when you have a condition like cancer is that motivating yourself to do things is quite difficult. Physically and emotionally it can be really hard to find the strength. I had days where I really wanted to play guitar, which is important when you are a songwriter and music is a major part of your life. I'd go to my music room, pick up the guitar, touch the strings, lie my head on the body for a few minutes and put it down again.

Eventually I read some books, worked through some processes, learned how to meditate, started focusing on what mattered and recognised that one of the really important things for me was things to look forward to. They could be big things or little things like a weekend away with friends.

So anyway, as you can see from my profile picture, I bought the Corvette and about 6 months ago I downloaded the membership application form and yesterday my wife and I went on our first run, to a great spot in the Firth of Thames called Kaiaua, where we met about 30 club members, drove for miles in a parade of at least 20 Corvettes and had a great lunch, where we were presented with our club badges, caps and my wife even won a Corvette T-Shirt in a raffle.

All in all a great day, a step towards making some new friends and looking forward to our next run, which is to the famous surf beach of Raglan in the Waikato region of New Zealand.

Life List #7 ticked off. Not big, very cheap, but could be very important in the scheme of enjoying life and making new friends. Here are a few pics from the trip. Mine is of course the black 'Vette.

21414736_1519630251430737_3527557399466619157_o.jpg

IMG_4517.JPG

IMG_4515.JPG

Sort:  

Very Nice. Thanks for sharing. Upvoted

Good story, that is awesome you bought a Corvette. Hope you get a lot of enjoyment out of it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63050.55
ETH 2622.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71