Why Are You Hiding Your Glory?

in #life7 years ago

“Your need for acceptance can make you invisible in this world. Don’t let anything stand in the way of the light that shines through this form. Risk being seen in all of your glory.” Jim Carey

A friend sent me this quote the other day, and it so spoke to me.

I am a diligent observer of this world and of myself and how I relate to this world. By this world, I mainly mean humanity and the way humans go about living together with one another.

Why the f do “we” all have such a complex about how we look and how we want to be perceived by others?

I can go into all of the reasons why this is so, but that’s not what this blog is about. I asked the question to get you to open up to the remedies of this oh so imprisoning way of living.

Caring what others think about us…hmmm….as if what they think could possibly make a difference in our lives. As if what they think matters. As if what they think is even real. And as if we could ever really know what they think.

Oh my we are foolish creatures aren’t we? No, actually we are not….we are only allowing our egoic nature to act out on its foolish interpretations. We, at our core….are glorious beyond measure. We are magnificent and beautiful and absolutely full of astonishing light.

We have listened for too long to the voice of the personality structure, to the voice of the media slave system, and to the voice of the collective shame culture. These “sources” are complete lies. Heresy actually. They bind and enslave and capture and taunt. They are smoke and mirrors….and we have allowed them to be real.

I’m telling you, what another person thinks of you….or what you make up they think of you, is a complete illusion, and it matters nothing. It’s weightless…in fact it doesn’t even exist.

What matters are the issues of the heart. The impact of love and kindness and compassion. This is all that is real and all that will ever matter. Period. No argument. Done.

So if you are worried about what someone is going to think about your big nose (this is what i used to think), then just remember that we are all one, and if you accept yourself, then you need not anything or anyone out there to accept you.

Accept yourself. Be acceptance. Be self-kindness. Embrace you. Because, in fact, you are still only embracing these temporal things about yourself. These will all pass away…these body things or personality things. They are simply a part of your temporary human self. And they are with you for you to learn to be the source of your own acceptance and power and potency.

Why on earth do we want to fit in? Think about it. Isn’t it our diversity that makes us so remarkable. Would you want to go to a buffet table that only served broccoli? Every platter on the entire table just broccoli. That would get boring so fast. No different colors, no variety of flavors, no expanse of aromas. Boring, blech, blah.

Now we don’t have to go out and do crazy things to stand out either…isn’t this just another way of trying to be accepted? I’m going to dye my hair green and put all these tats on my body. I’m going to dress to the 9th and wear my Prada shoes and carry my Gucci handbag. I’m going to pierce all my body. I’m going to spend all this money on makeup and doll myself up every time I go out the door. I’m going to stop shaving completely and go au naturel.

Now, none of these things are wrong at all! If it floats your boat then go for it. My point is that these things we sometimes do to say f the system, or f what you think about me I’m going to show you my uniqueness……well sometimes these are just another attempt on the other side of the coin to find acceptance.

You are the only person that can ever fill up the acceptance tank. Do what you like, wear what you want, do whatever you want to your hair. You don’t need to fit in and you don’t need to stand out. Just be yourself, and accept that.

Self-acceptance is in some ways, a misnomer. We can never be separate from ourself, from God, from others. We are truly One. So the idea of rejection is a duality earth based conversation. And yet still, because we are here now, it is important to be in the spiritual practice of self-love, self-like and self-acceptance.

For me, at the core of all of this, it’s knowing who I Am. It’s knowing I am a divine glorious majestic being having a temporary human experience. This is number one and it’s the most important daily remembrance and understanding. And number two, it’s loving and accepting my human self, this fantastic body, and all that I am. Full acceptance. Nothing an exception. Being the embrace of myself that I might want to search for out there.

And one more thing….I love being in relationship with others, and I love giving and receiving unconditional love. It’s powerful, it’s fun, it’s divine. There is so much loveliness in receiving acceptance and kindness from others. And it’s not what I rise and fall on. And the more I unconditionally accept myself the more I seem to find it in the world. Hmmm.

Just be. There’s nothing to do, nowhere to get to, no one to be. This is enough. You are enough. Be your gift.

So much love,

julie

Sort:  

This was super deep. Great read! 5 out of 5. 100 out of 10

Thank you so much! I started to write and it all just flowed out! Appreciate your feedback!

beautiful. Thanks so much I loved reading this. it definitely is about accepting yourself as you are and knowing who you are. A lot of us get into the space of really caring what others think (I have been one of those people) and it can suck especially when you realize how damaging it is on your mind and its not really doing anything helpful for you except holding you back from enjoying your life on your terms. I am enough. You are enough. That is the gift we bring to this world <3

true that, thank you so much! yes, i wrote this from my own experiences of course..and the deep realizations of Spirit. i love the way you write...heartfelt! blessings!

Congratulations @bluemind! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59605.87
ETH 2518.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44