Almost Filmed My Own Death Today!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

Besides being shot at or being involved in some crazy cop chases, today was the closest that I have come to death (that I know of) and I was able to record it in 4K!

This video shows me rafting down the New River in West Virginia. This river is famous for it's white water rapids! This was my first time actually rafting in a boat like this and to be honest, I probably shouldn't have been attempting these rapids. In the video you can see that my left oar became lodged somehow in some rocks. I had a really good grip on the oar and it catapulted me out of the boat! This was a pretty bad ride and I almost started to panic. I was being beaten really bad by the rocks and the rapids and current was extremely powerful. If you turn the volume up, you can hear me gurgling and gasping for air! I definitely swallowed a lot of water but luckily I pulled through. The only thing that kept me from panicking was that I knew the rapids were almost over and I could get some air. The only injuries sustained was an extremely banged up leg and arm and a ripped off toenail, so I'm not complaining.

I hope to have some more footage of this beautiful river and country soon, I just thought that I would go ahead and upload the scary part lol. Thanks for checking it out!

Sort:  

@bluelightbandit
I can see why you made the title as you did. That was not fun.
I have heard about the West Virginia white water rapids for years.
Now I can know a little about why it is considered to be so risky.
You videoed it for us in real time.
But, you made it. For that we are all happy.
Do be careful.

Francis

Holy crap!!! Is what I say...that and "what doesn't kill us makes us stronger".
Francis, I have come to appreciate that each one of us are calculated risk takers. I think that's also a strong personality trait of Steemit beta testers. ;)

It all goes back to what I told you what my balls were made out of... :)

Hahaha! Got to live in High Definition at full throttle so that we know we're still alive.

Thanks Francis! The majority of the trip was very enjoyable except for the part you just seen. This was my FIRST time doing this and it's NOT recommended to do solo for a beginner like me. I hope to piece together more enjoyable parts of the trip soon, thanks again!

Well done! Thankfully you've survived to tell the tale.
The scenery looks spectacular!
I thought you'd be with a few other people in one raft, but this looks like you each had your own.
Do you just rent the equipment for a day of white water fun or near death?

Thanks! You can do a commercial trip where you're in a boat with an experienced guide (recommended) and other people but this incident was where my buddy and I took his own boats and went on our own. My friend had all the equipment we needed but I'm sure you can rent everything you need at the resort. I will hopefully be able to get a better post and video showing and telling about the entire trip. This post was hard enough to get uploaded with the horrible signal area I was in. I think I just slept for about 20 hours straight lol!

No doubt! You must have been exhausted. I almost didn't make it through my day today. 2 days of high humidity and a weekend where I let myself get dehydrated...I still do stupid shit and I know better. There is no excuse. It was my own fault.

I'm afraid you wouldn't make it too long where I live. The humidity in the summer is horrid, and that is why I love my central air oh so dearly. I can't take it like I use to could.

Noooo! I would not make it without being confined to indoors with AC.
I'm good with dry heat but high humidity creates paraesthesia in all my peripheral nerves that were damaged when I was still having attacks. (Before I changed my eating lifestyle and embraced the herb daily.)

I've heard about these slopes for some time
But in this video you explained more to us

greeting brave Heart

Thank you for taking a peek! Hopefully soon I will be able to post more about the trip that wasn't so scary. I don't want to scare anyone away from experiencing this.

I will follow up the next flights

I don't imagine that there is rafting on the Nile is there @walidsalah? ;)

There are more such gatherings within the Nile
Where daily Nile cruises are located
I wish to visit it

Whoa, that was crazy scary! Definitely something you can cross off your bucket list, haha. I believe once would be enough for me. Glad you were able to mostly keep your head in the situation. Now, I'm looking forward to the "calm" moments of the trip.

You're right, I can cross that one off but I will probably go back for more to be honest! Hopefully I can get the more calm and peaceful moments put together for viewing soon lol. Thanks again!

That is indeed some scary stuff. I know I would be in a panic for sure. Glad you came out of it okay.

The ONLY thing that kept me from panicking was knowing that the rapids were almost over and then I could get some air.

That was seriously crazy! You managed to dodge the bullet today! No more shenanigans like this or there will be no more bucket list! Glad you lived to tell about it...

lol I like your way of thinking! I just told someone the other day that I'm pretty sure that I have used up 10 of my 9 lives!

Woops. Lol glad you ok!

Thank ya, sir!

Oh man that was nuts! Glad you made it and that the rapids stopped where they did. That could have been a lot worse if the rapids continued on for a while.

You hit the nail on the head and that is the only reason I was able to remain calm!

Damn they was wild. Glad your doing good tho

Crazy my friend . Want to ask you about your other pass times. Collections I mean. Can you discuss ? I noticed you have modified your heading on your blog. Your friend 🐓🐓

You can ask me anything you want to, either here or in a DM, which ever you prefer. I'm not sure which heading you're referring to? The part 2 of the rafting trip?

Silver. Just some basic info to get me started. Feel like I have to be cryptic, but I don't want to step on your toes. Appreciate whatever guidance you can give to me. Bet you thought I wanted to go rafting on the white waters ! I can see me now flailing about drinking a good portion of water! Lol! Thank you my friend. 🐓🐓

Depends on what your wanting to do. Invest or collect or some of both? I do both. I collect numismatic silver and collect bullion silver. Now is not a bad time to invest in silver because spot is at 16.73 at the moment. When I started investing a few years ago it was around 14 dollars an ounce and I have seen it as high as 22 dollars an ounce. Provident Metals, JM Bullion and APMEX and Modern Coin Mart are reputable places to purchase precious metals and are competitive with their prices. Usually Provident will offer free shipping with a 100 dollar order and I think the others do as well now that I think about it.

If you're just wanting to stack weight then buy the most you can at one time because it's cheaper that way. Silver is silver. In a SHTF scenario it won't make a damn who made your silver bar or if it has a scratch on it or not.

You can buy "junk" silver also which is mainly older constitutional coins that are 90% silver. It's all in what your wanting to do. Flip to make a quick buck? If you're wanting to collect numismatic coins, one thing you want to pay attention to is the mintage amount. You don't really want a coin that has a relative high mintage because everybody and their brother will have one. Be careful when buying pm's on ebay and other places like that because there are a shit load of fakes out there. Don't hesitate to ask me anything or direct message me any time you want to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63762.28
ETH 3107.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84