Working overtime is probably a bad idea for you

in #life7 years ago

I work in banks for over 6 years now. I see that many people working overtime and leave work real late. Some may have real work to do. Some may just want to stick around until their bosses leave. Both ways, I think that working overtime doesn’t bring you anywhere.

images.jpeg

Perception on working late
Some people may believe that working late can lead to a good impression to their superiors. I don’t buy that and in your bosses’ eyes, constantly working late just mean that you could be a “work slave”, nothing more.

Boss-Baby-with-Briefcase01.png

Vicious cycle
If you show your boss that you can endure extremely long and unreasonable working hours, your workload is just going to be more and more because they think you will take care of it by sacrificing your personal life.

Effectiveness
If you let yourself to work late so consistently, your mind and your body would be automatically adapted to it and spread the workload through the long working hour. Trust me, set a timeline for yourself and target to leave work on time. You would still be able to finish your assignments without working late.

Work life balance
Work is not the only thing you have in life. Your family, your friends, your husband and wife and anything else are also as important.

These are genuine advice that I believe everyone should consider. Life is short and you sure don’t want to spend the majority of your time on work. Use your time wise, spend more time with the ones you treasure and get a life. I am sure you won’t regret it.

download.jpeg

Sort:  

I did it my whole life and regret it now. Balance in life is important. Live you life, raise your children. Work to live, not live to work. Put in your 40 hours and enjoy the time that God gave you on earth and those that he put into your life as a gift.

This is exactly what I am trying to do. I am 27 now and always trying to live my life. So far no regrets.

I would have to tend to agree, especially in the case that you are working a salary and are receiving the same income, further trading your time for money without the increase of income to justify it. However, it all comes back to your long term goals. If you get paid overtime and feel that it is helping you move towards your goal faster it may be worth it, but I wouldn't recommend doing it simply for an image you are trying to convey to your employer.

As an employee, you are dispensable at the end of the day, however having a strong work ethic and commitment is an invaluable asset to have and you should find a balance between whether your time is worth it or not.

I am under the perception that you should work full time on your job and part time on your fortune - "If you dont build your own dreams, someone else will hire you to build theirs".

Agree that this is the reality. I think that working hours isn't proportional to how fast you can move up your career ladder. Working smart is simply more effective than working late.

My friend, a kind reminder here.
#cn tag is stand for chinese.
However, no chinese was detected in this article.
Please use wisely for your tag,thank you.

I think we should look for a gold middle in our lifes. Career is important but there always should be someone to get back to after work.

It is always good to have balance.

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59190.13
ETH 3187.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45