You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Crap I Put Up with Because I’m a Girl in IT

in #life8 years ago

Susanne,

Great writeup and glad to see you on here.

  • What drew you to IT / STEM stuff?
  • What do you think would draw more females to the IT realm?

I've personally met very few women who are naturally inclined to technology. Not to say they're not 'inclined to learning or understanding' technology, simply that they don't care about it 'as long as the internet works'. :)

Sort:  

Thank you for the nice words. Actually, my friends @svk convinved me to join Steemit. I think coding should be taught in elemtary school! I have a couple of girlfriends that are into tech as well, but not many. :)

I reached the realization at the age of 30 that being able to code for this generation will be my generations equivalent of being able to type.

Good on ya! Keep writing here. Followed :)

Having just spent 3 months working in an IT company, turns out I am the only one in the place who can actually touch type! How this happens, I don't know.

I like ur post, keep it up

So true. I wish I had taken up some classes at school. I wouldn't feel so ignorant now.

Ha - I learned to code in BASIC on a TRS-80 before elementary school. I like that idea of learning it in elementary school. Now am getting back into it because it looks like an occupation that is rewarding, and kind of fun.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70