You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Confessions of a Recovering Chicago Cub Hater: Part One

in #life8 years ago

I went to one Cubs game a few years back and reached a conclusion similar to yours: many Cubs fans are just 'drinking' fans... baseball is a sideshow.

I described it like, "Hey! We're gonna go to this big park where everyone is hanging out, getting hammered and have a great time! There's some weird guys in uniforms doing weird shit on a field, but we yell at them sometimes and its fun. No, its cool! Bring your blue hat!"

All that said, I DO love this Cubs team and I'm hoping they win.

Two Reasons:

  1. They're underdogs, and I generally root for underdogs.
  2. They're a fun, young, talented, respectable team of professionals. Javier Baez has been mind blowing. Anthony Rizzo is amazing to watch. Russel Addison hitting that grand slam floored me. Just a fun team to watch.

Their postseason has been another of many reminders of why I love baseball!

Great post, @hanshotfirst!

Sort:  

2 years ago my son's little league team was the Cubs. I told him that he would be the only Cub I would ever root for.... but this team is just so damn likeable.

The second part of this is going to feature Joe Maddon... who is simply awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62182.25
ETH 2437.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61