That one time I was at a cult

in #life7 years ago

I didn’t drink the Kool-Aid. however I did reflect on an assignment we were given “think about the worst thing that is ever happened to you, and why this is actually the best thing that ever happened to you”.

The worst thing that has ever happened to me is becoming gravely disabled in both wrists three years ago. (This isn’t my first rodeo becoming disabled) losing all ability you to function without pain. I had just gotten close to the end of completing 90 units of doctoral coursework after Many grueling years. I was faced with a roadblock and unable to write a dissertation. I eventually “quit” the program. I ended early. I was gracefully discharged. I was supposed to be a doctor. This all came to a grinding halt. slammed doors on my spirit turned to ashes. defeated, disheartened , and deeply dissatisfied. did I mention devastatingly endless amounts of DEBT?

This is the best thing that has ever happened to me because I would be stuck in an office right now. I would be in a square, a block, a gridlock. I would have rushed into a career at 29 years old without taking the time to travel, get lost, and reinvent myself. i can say yes now to opportunities that would have been foreclosed on because of my career. I can say yes to joining a cult for the winter on the East Coast. I can say yes to traveling which I never seemed to have enough money or enough time to do. I can say no to what I “should” be doing with my life and surrender to the sound of yes.

Bt took losing it all to realize I don’t Even want this dream anyhow. “Obviously you were not supposed to be a doctor or else you would have been one.” I am more than my career. What do you do? I dream about snowboarding. I simply exist. transcending the body. I can listen to where my heart strings are being pulled. It is a soft hum. snowfall on a frozen leaf. silent beaming energy. I am free And I am truly content in this moment.

snow leaf.jpg

Sort:  

THe yearning for TRUE freedom will at some stage in our life let itself be known. Better late than never. And sometimes life has to be 'cruel' to stop us, long enough, to be able to listen to our heart.

Welcome to Steemit @blackvelvetroses. Look forward to seeing more of your images.

Congratulations @blackvelvetroses! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

What a great way to look at what happens. Sometimes we all wonder ...what if.
Upvoting and following.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65702.61
ETH 3485.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51