Three Tips to Kick Start Your New Year

in #life7 years ago

NYKS1.png

Since I was a teenager, I was taught to prepare myself to the new years doing simple tasks that would help me have a good one.
I can't say it is a cultural thing, but it is a family lesson I try to take with me in life.

1. Do you need it all?
1st January means to me a new fresh start, and to make it literally fresh, I try to get rid of everything I don't use or need anymore. To make it less exhausting, in my family we started it with the advent calendar. But there's still one week to open your drawers, wardrobre, separate useless broken stuff, shoes or clothes that don't fit you. To make it easier to select, just try to remember when was the last time you used every piece you have, or if it would be impossible to live without it.

I don't have kids, but I remember doing this as a child. Every end of the year I'd have to select toys I don't play with anymore and give it away. If you have children, this is a fun thing to do together and also teach about compassion and generosity.


hlf.png

2. Cleaning time!

Alright, now you have many bags ready to go, it's time to clean :). I know, I also hate doing it, but I hate as much as I need it, so call a friend or your partner for help and start to clean your house. Shelves, cabinets, top of forniture. Remove as much dust as you can. It'll be tiring as f**k, but it will also garente a good night of sleep.

3. The list

I know we usually write a resolution list for the new year, but we are mostly just accumulating promisses we won't keep. Instead, let's list things we were thankful for in this year. Every single thing you can remember of, a trip, a fun weekend, when someone you know was sick and got well, your new job or collegue who's always helping you, your new forniture, your parent for staying home with your kids, your family, your friends, your food, health, love. Everything that really touches your heart.

If you think this is too much for a day, just plan your week. Maybe two hours here and there and you will get it sorted.


bf1.png

This isn't of course the formula to a perfect life, but it is for sure a good new year start. It prepares your mind and soul for new challenges, for new stories, prosperity and good energy.
But don't forget, everyday is the perfect day to start anew, you are the master of your fate, and wherever you want life to take you, be in charge of it.



casco.png

Sort:  

Parabéns, seu post foi votado e compartilhado pelo projeto Brazilian Power, cuja meta é incentivar a criação de mais conteúdo de qualidade, conectando a comunidade brasileira e melhorando as recompensas no Steemit. Obrigado!

footer-comentarios-2.jpg

Dear Bianca, you wrote a beautiful post with very good suggestions. I especially like the last one. we are so inclined to forget the good and remember the bad things. But it should be the other way around.

You forgot to mention your own good intention for the new year. But I remember it!! Be prepared to be asked about it by me !!!!

Oh Yes, enjoy the last moments of endless food haha getting ready!

Those are some really great tips Bianca! And now I'm thinking about it I unconsciously start the new year fresh as well. I also tend to reset my phone to rid all the things I don't really need and I try to revamp my room and working space. Those little thing can really make a difference.

I believe so too! if I my room is q bit messy I can't sleep well, don't know why, but when it's all neat and cosy I sleep much better. So I believe it applies for a new beginning!

Thanks for sharing! I agree, a clear up of unwanted things really clears the mind :)

I love it, it's like cleaning up the mess in your mind too :)
thank you!

Hi princess, very nice suggestions for the welcome of New Year. Your planning of, cleaning and organizing things are very good. Yes we should be innovative and decipline in our everyday lives, so that things will become easy and effective. Thanks, wish you a very beautiful time ahead.

Thank you so much for the kind words, dear Maya, I couldn't agree more. Wish you a happy new year! Cheers!

I like you preparations for the new year! I don't like resolutions either because be February the list is broken already. I prefer to have a bucket list. This is a list of things I really would like to do. These get done through out the year and you have some accomplishment to look back on.

Yes, a bucket list is a great idea! Just things you know you will be able to accomplish. :)

More positive and not as much feeling bad because you failed.

really good suggestions, now its time to get them done!
btw, I hate cleaning too :D

Put some nice tune on and get it started! Haha cheers

Thanks for sharing these helpful ideas. Do you have any insights on how to keep your list? A lot of data exists to show that even after 30 days most people break their New Years resolutions. Anyone who is reading this post have suggestions?

Don't promise yourself things you know you won't keep and try to be consistent with your plans. The Power of Habit is a good reading in case you have troubles of keeping consistency. Cheers

Good sharing, its time for me to do some spring cleaning too :)

Haha Yes, a winter cleaning, why not?

YES! 👇🏻

"But don't forget, everyday is the perfect day to start anew..."

Exactly! I am so thankful that no matter what kind of day I have, each day when the sun rises, I have a chance to change things for the better, and be a better version of myself.

That's the greatest gift we have, tomorrow!

Beautiful post love!

tomorrow can always be the best day of ourlives, right? :* thank you!

Yes! Love that! I’ve got to keep reminding myself of that 💕

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63