Make a Texas Brisket for Independence Day!

in #life7 years ago

images.jfif

If you have ever had a great brisket from Texas, (Franklins outside of Austin, or Lockharts in Dallas are never a bad idea) then you will appreciate this recipe. If not, I recommend you try this recipe out if you have time. I have developed this recipe through a few years of trial and error. This post assumes the user knows how to use a smoker, and the applicable safety requirements.

There are lots of ways to do this, and only trial and error will help you find your own favorite recipe. Think of mine as a "starter-pack" to help you on your way to developing your own signature Brisket. It has taken me a lot of trials to make a solid brisket, so I am hoping to help others avoid some of that process.

Estimated Prep-Time: 30-45 Minutes)
Estimated Cook Time: ~50-55 minutes per lb (I am using 10 lb in example)

Supplies:
-Smoker & charcoal
Kosher salt & Cracked Pepper (or pre-made rub of choice)
-Post Oak wood chips (this is generally considered a defining characteristic of Smoked Texas Brisket, but feel free to try out new blends or wood chips and let me know how it turns out!).
-Foil
-Oven
-Cooler
-Meat Thermometer

postoak.jpg

Selecting a Brisket Cut:

There are tons of guides and resources out there to help you with this. This is one of the most important parts of the final product, so choose wisely! I think that you can find decent cuts at Costco or wherever. You want to look for some marbling (the fat keeps the meat tender during that long cook), but you need to find a balance. A solid tip while picking.. Pick up the cut of brisket from the center. If it is stiff, it has too much fat, so put it back. If the meat folds over easily (imagine trying to fold it up and stuff it in your pocket), you may have a winner.

brisketCUT1.jpg

Prepping the grill:

Heat up your smoker to 275. Normally takes me 30-60 minutes to get it ready the way I like it. (Note: A lot of people will say 200-230 but I have found 275 to work best. )

Try and get your smoke to have a bluish, almost clear color and quality before sticking your brisket in the smoker. The smoke will impart a lot of the flavor in the meat.. So the type of wood chips, and smoke color all affect the final product. Everyone has their own taste, so tinker a bit to find your favorite.

smoker.jpg

Cooking:

Apply any rub you want. I tend to think that the meat tastes delectable on its own, but to each his own...

Stick the brisket in the smoker, with the marbling facing up and close up the smoker. You will need to keep a watchful eye on the smoker so that you maintain a constant temperature. I normally check it every 10-15 minutes, but its up to you.

So for a 10 lb cut, it took me about 9-10 hrs of actual cook time. What I do, is I smoke the brisket for the first half, which in this case was about 4 hrs and 30 minutes. The meat temperature should be 160-170 around now.

Next, take the brisket out and double-wrap it in foil.

What I do next is not a usual tactic, but I figure after this amount of time smoking the meat... The meat has plenty of smokiness to it per say.

I heat up an oven to 275 for the final half of the cook time. I do this for a few reasons:

  1. I dont have to keep checking the smoker every 10-15 minutes to see if it is at the right temperature
  2. I can start cleaning up the smoker and everything while the brisket is finishing up

Alright, so now you have about 4-5 hours of cook time left.

What you should be looking for during this final time period is a meat temperature of roughly 200 degrees. (Some people say 197 some say 202... Whatever, I try not to overthink it..)

When your meat starts climbing to that 190 range, and you start thinking you have about an hour of cook time left, you should open up the foil. This will help create a nice crispy bark on the outside, while keeping the inside nice and tender.

Once your meat hits about 200 degrees, take it out and wrap it in some paper or foil and let it sit in a cooler for a couple hours before serving....

()

Voila, you have a great meal and look like a grill master.

Sort:  

Upvoted - Nice post!
I love BBQ and Smoking Meat!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52