You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You're not jealous of a person - you're jealous of a story

in #life7 years ago

I LOVED your post and the idea you are trying to pass. This online jealousy is dangerous, we know it, but we can't stop experiencing it without finding the source of the feeling. I hate it when I get jealous of someone's story as you said! I was asking myself, why I get jealous particularly of her posts, then I realized I envy the certain points of her life, not her as a person. This gave me a way to detach myself from the person, but helped me to focus on the particular subject and work on it individually. In my opinion, especially this part of your post might be very helpful for people who experience similar negative feelings:

Next time you’re on social media or hearing a story from someone else about their life, use any potential feelings of jealousy as a tuning device for inquiry – you’re not jealous of a person because that’s impossible. What stories are you envious of? Where can you detach from those stories and see them as thin membranes overlaying a person’s ethereal life? And where can you dive into more opportunities to experience other people for who they truly are?

I will make sure I keep these in my mind! Thank you for your effort, and great post. (ノ◕ヮ◕)ノ*:・゚✧

Sort:  

Ahhh!! Im so sorry for the late reply on my part. I am so, so glad that this piece spoke to you and that that paragraph was the most helpful. Thank you for the comment; it truly means a lot to me that this writing is making an impact and changing people’s hearts and minds out there here on Steemit! ❤️❤️❤️

No problem at all! :) Yes! It's such a beautiful thing to ble to touch others' life in this platform :) ❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45