A Lovely Day at a Classic English Seaside - But There's Something Strange About It!

in #life6 years ago (edited)

Today I went to the seaside with my little family. My 22 month old son had been saying he wanted to build sand castles for the past few days, so I thought, it's sunny (in fact the longest run of hot weather in England since 1995), so we set off in the morning with a car full of buckets spades and an umbrella to Sandsend.

IMG_20180701_150615.jpg

I must admist though, I had a bit of a shock when we first arrived. I was looking forward to the classic English seaside food, fish and chips, and couldn't find a shop that sold them anywhere. I went into a local shop and asked where to find one, and was told that they don't have a fish and chip shop in anywhere in Sandsend!!

Now if you're reading this and not from England that might not sound strange, but in England, believe me, it is VERY strange. Fish and chips is THE CLASSIC English seaside meal. When I asked why not, the shop owners told me that the whole seaside resort is owned by the Mulgrave Estate. The Mulgrave Estate is owned by a the "Phipps" family and the decision was made to ban any fish and chip shops because they don't like seaguls, and say that fish and chips attract them.

First of all, imagine being that wealthy that your family owns a whole seaside resort (see pictures), but ALSO, imagine having that much power that you can just decide "well I don't like seagulls, let's ban fish and chip shops!"

I got home and did a bit of research and this family has owned Sandsend, and a lot more nearby land and villages since the early 18th century. Now my dad owns his house as well as a bungalow, and I'm aware that this is a great position of wealth to be in compared to the masses of poverty in the world. BUT, imagine being that previliged that you are born into such wealth that you own whole towns and villages, and never have to worry about money your whole life. It's just a different world.

Has anyone ever met anyone like this?

Anyway I digress.

So after my shock about the fish and chips (I know, I should get over it ha) we went to a nice little cafe and got some sandwiches, eating them on the beach in the sun.

IMG_20180701_140249.jpg

Here's a shot of my fiance and son enjoying an orange and a nice healthy drink.

IMG_20180701_143414.jpg

And finally here's a pitch of my little family. We had a great day out. We've decided to come back again soon.

IMG_20180701_143741.jpg

I hope you've enjoyed reading my post. I'm not sure whether I should do more posts like this, so please any feedback is welcome.

@birdistheword

Sort:  

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined guidelines. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.

P.S.
I do not know anyone who owns a village. The thought that one could be not worrying about money is so... well, only a dream.

I know it's crazy isn't it. The ultra priveliged. I guess that family will be like the modern day Downton Abbey, or maybe just a few steps down from the Royals. Thanks for reading and upvoting. Whats this "We Curate" tool and where do I find it?

It is a web art project that filters Steemit posts with changing predetermined guidelines. You can find the We Curate explanation and the link to it here: https://steemit.com/curation/@worksinsane/worksinsane-insanely-searching-for-quality-content

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67946.39
ETH 3824.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77