You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Christmas Legends and Traditions Around the World - Italy

in #life7 years ago

This is also the story of the Babuszka from Poland. I think a lot of stories around that area are the same. Babuszka had been sweeping when she turned down the three men, like any Witch would (the sweeping, I mean) and that's why she flew around on her broom afterwards, to find the child and give what she could to all the children.

Babuszka is a modernised story of the Old Hag, very Pagan in nature. Polish tradition is mixed with paganism and Christianity. That's why growing up, it was always a mix of both. When we got older, my mother let us choose our spiritual path. I went the old Celtic pagan way, while my brother chose the Christian path. My sister is somewhere in the middle. We mix and match traditions at the holidays. My mother writes a Christian prayer, but we also light candles for Yule and include the Goddess and God in our prayers. If I wanted to, I could write a Celtic prayer, but I'm not sure what I'd write.

We were already planning Vigilia the other day. I will be making Naleszniki, my mom can take care of the rest. 12 courses to the meal, that's the Polish way, for the 12 months of the year, even if in the old days there were 13 for the 13 moons in the year.

If you would like, I could tell you more about Vigilia and what's involved in the whole thing for your posts. Let me know where to send you the info if you want it :)

Sort:  

I love how it's so similar to the Italian folklore.

Discord chat?

That can work. On Discord I'm known as DarthShadie (my alter ego).

I do not yet know how to message new people if I cannot hover over their name, lol, so can you please initiate? ArbitraryKitten, same as here :)

Apparently it requires a 4 digit tag number. So here is mine, you can put it in teh Add Friend section of Discord: 8758.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57742.49
ETH 3102.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39