My Thoughts on Body Shaming

in #life6 years ago

Hi Steemians!

7 days ago, I've shared my body transformation for 5 months here in Steemit. Many people were actually happy for me on my success. The weight loss journey has been a hell of a ride as people around me were so negative about it.

Because of it, I never said a word to my doubtful friends and I've never shared anything on social media - until the day that I have successfully lost 10 kilos. That shocked them. I've proven them wrong.

I must admit, aside from health reasons, part of the motivation to actually lose weight are the people who body shamed me in so many ways they know. People nowadays love to body shame as easy as greeting! Example, if someone meets a friend he'd not seen for a long time, will just easily say: "Hi! You look fat!" Instead of saying "How are you?".

My situation has been really hard. As I've mentioned on my last post, I grew up really really thin and people body shamed me for being such. They will call me "lipak" or bamboo stick, "payat" or thin or anything you could or could not imagine. That went on for the first 25 years of my life.

At 26, when I started to gain enough weight to look better and healthier, people will call you names again pertaining to your changing body shape. There's nowhere to run.

At 27, when I got pregnant (got married at 26), that's when I started to gain a lot and that was the hardest part: you'll be body shamed by the closest people you know. Being pregnant was hard and people judging your body added to the burden.

Fast forward today, I am really happy that I was able to reach my goal: to feel good about my self. Yes. I shed off weight to please my self: no more, no less. Losing some pounds doesn't guarantee that you'll be able to impress the crowd. I think I've reached the point that I no longer care about other people's feedback. They will still body shame you, anyway.

When I start to notice my collar bones showing off again.


I hope people would understand that everyone of us has so many issues in life. Let's be careful with our words as we really don't know how the other person will take it. No matter how big or small a person's body is, we don't have the right to judge. Let's co-exist without any judgment on one another.


signature_1.gif

I have voted for my witness. How about you? Consider casting your witness votes for @steemgigs (@surpassinggoogle), @precise, @cloh76.witness, @ausbitbank and @curie who have been adding invaluable contribution to the community.

To cast your votes, just go to
https://steemit.com/~witnesses

Sort:  

nice


thanks for posting steemitdavao tags

Upvoted and resteem your beloved post

From your steemitdavao family
davao.png

extraordinary effort, but I think the more extraordinary is when we dare to show what it is, which is important healthy and strong

I agree with you. :)

Resteem bot Service! Promote Your New Post.Find New Freinds - Followers - Upvotes. Send 0.400 SBD and your post url in memo and we will resteem your post to 9000+ followers from two different account.@stoneboy and @vimal-gautam.

Mao jud @bingcaingo. Instead of "kumusta?" dili kay ang pagkataba ang napansin.. Haha

Gani no? Unya'g bati og nawong di baya ta moingon nga bati sila. hehehe. joke. :)

Lol... clowns are everywhere in this world. Sweetheart, you don't have to prove anything to OR impress anyone, self love is key, and if it didn't exist, I'd invent it for my pretties who get so beat down about what loosers always have to say... If it makes you happy, don't care what anyone thinks.

Yep. I love the "clown" tag. Hahahaha. After sometime, indeed, we don't have to prove anything to them and we'll just have to live our lives the way we want to. We'll slay, baby! @wakkylyon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25