Foods for Longevity, mental clarity, and wellbeing

in #life8 years ago

I'm 70 years old in great health and I blend healthy fruits and vegetables (12 party cups in all) every couple of weeks.

My 6 cups of blended salad products consist of homegrown hot peppers (Habanero, cayenne, and Jalapenos), garlic, onions, Tumeric, oregano, rosemary, basil, arugula, spinach, tomatoes, feta cheese, salsa, carrots, various nuts, sea salt and pepper, oil and vinegar, black olives, chicken broth, etc… these amounts can be adjusted to taste and what food products that you want to freeze before they go bad.

First pre-blend (I use a small Magic Bullet blender to do this… first with the chopping blade and next with the flat blade) the peppers and garlic, after adding a little of the blending base liquid… for the salad blends, I use chicken broth and fruit blends I use Almond Milk. I do this pre-blending for both salads and fruit blends. Hot peppers and garlic are the most important foods to health and wellbeing, imv, and diluting them down with fruits and salad products (organic or home grown if possible) makes them tolerable to drink daily. Thru the year I freeze fresh produce and peppers, during the growing season, so I have plenty on hand for the year.

My 6 cups of blended fruits usually consist of blueberries, kiwi, strawberries, apple, flax seed and nuts, almond milk, bananas, grapefruit, cherries, yogurt, granola, pure raw honey, etc. Of course don't forget the most important hot pepper and garlic blend, as mentioned in the previous paragraph, to the high speed large blender.

Once blended up in the large blender just pour up in cups, cover cups with saran wrap, and freeze it. Just take out one cup every day or so, the evening before to allow to thaw out overnight. I always say go with the healthy foods first and then make them as good tasting as possible... enjoy!


Sort:  

I think I should buy a blender and try this.

That's awesome! I wish you a long and prosperous life. May you live to more than a hundred. Thanks for spreading this to the world.

Thanks and wishing you good health

That's the spirit!

Why blending? Why not eating all that heathy vegs whole raw? You are missing the texture and some vitamins

“Why Blending?”… I can take advantage of the growing season to get fresh produce at the cheapest cost. And most all is raw that is blended. There’s less waste when fresh produce starts to age and b4 it goes bad, it can be blended and frozen, not thrown away. For example, strawberries, which don’t last that long, can be roughly blended and poured into plastic ice cube trays and frozen… then just pop the cubes out and into a gallon zip-lock bag and back into the freezer… same with kiwi. Blending dilutes the hot peppers and garlic, which allows more to be ingested into the body. Of course blending is only a supplement to my diet and I do eat fresh produce and other foods during the day or out at resturants. If i'm not eating blended foods, I sprinkle cayenne and turmeric spices on my whole foods... just mix up a small empty spice jar with 30% cayene pepper spice to 60% tumeric spice... bill

One reason I started blending a year or two ago was I, like a lot of older men, had high PSA (prostate-specific antigen) levels of 4.6... the limit is 4.0, so the urologist wanted to perform a prostate biopsy... this entailed sticking a sampling probe up my ass and taking 12 each samples around my prostate gland, which was also enlarged (happens a lot with guys my age) and restricts urine flow. Anyway, 2ea. of 12 samples came back with cancer, so I put together this blended mixture. Last week I had my second biopsy, even tho my PSA levels had dropped down under the maximum limit of 4.0... my recent PSA was 2.3 and I was cancer free for the first time in two years... the doctor sampled the prostate in the same relative positions, on the prostate gland, in order to get a comparable trend... I can't say this blending cured my cancer for sure, but it may have????

I've always been a blue-collar worker, working in different power generating, military, or child farming situations (nuclear subs, coal burning generating plants, farm chemicals, etc.) and have been exposed to a lot of bad stuff over the decades... radiation, heavy metals, asbestos, trichloroethylene, acids, caustics, chlorine gas (once breathed some in which almost suffocated me and blistered my throat), mercury, lab test chemicals, etc. So my next additions to this blending process will be to help fight any remaining cancers, detoxify, maintain mental clarity (my dad had Alzheimers), increased energy, increase well-being, facilitate weight reduction, and add to the overall alkalinity of my body:

  1. Pure Hawaiian Spirulina pacifica (Nutrex, Hawaii, 100% Vegan, 16 oz. green power), grown in fresh Hawaiian water aquifers... from Amazon

  2. Organic Wheat Grass (AmaZing Grass)... Vegan, Gluten-Free, and Raw... 200 taps and 1,000mg each... take 4-5 per dayh... from Amazon

  3. Purified drinking water... 2ea. filters under my sink... one for suspended solids and the next one charcoal in nature to remove chlorine from treated city water. To this drinking water or coffee, I add baking soda to raise the PH and make it an alkaline solution... you can adjust it to taste (less than an eight of a teaspoon per 12 oz.)... I'd recommend getting a cheap swimming pool test kit from WalMart or such and test it yourself, if you want?... the ideal Ph for mitigating oxidation in metal pipes is 8.0-8.5, according to the state environmental peeps here in Florida, so that would be a good range to start with.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57616.20
ETH 3030.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.25