Motivation Monday - Why I started

in #life7 years ago

After having my daughter, it honestly took me a while to find my motivation for working out and wanting to diet again. For a good year and a half, I let myself be "normal" and I can honestly say that it felt amazing.

Before having my Aria, I competed in the Bikini Division of Bodybuilding for a few years straight, which mentally ended up taking a toll on me. The back to back dieting and working out 5-7 days a week became taxing and quiet frankly, I started to dislike anything about competing.

While pregnant, I would workout for fun and enjoyed foods that I wanted in moderation, which felt so good! It was nice to workout for myself again and not because I had to.

I started my pregnancy at 135 pounds and ended up at 178 pounds before delivering. After delivering, I was beyond amazed at seeing how the human body can transform. 7 months later with only breastfeeding, I was back down to my pre-pregnancy weight! I would have never imagined that this could actually happen and this kick-started my interest into competing again.

I decided to prep for another competition in order to have an end goal of getting my body back - with the whole package. Sure, I may be back down to my pre-pregnancy weight, but that doesn't mean my abs and muscle are back yet.

I'm now in my 3rd week of strict dieting and adding weight lifting back into my routine, which I'm feeling amazing about! I'm excited to see what I can do in these remaining 8 weeks and the support from everyone keeps me going!

I've learned that sometimes you have to dig deep into yourself to find your own motivation and for anyone wanting to start their weight loss journey, I know you can do it! Find someone who will hold you accountable and even join you on your transformation. My husband will be competing with me, which is the first time we are prepping together since 2012!

It has been a challenge for me working full time and being a new mom and wife, while trying to fit the gym and double cardio sessions into a day, but I'm learning :) We'll all find the perfect solution one day, right?

Check back on Saturday for my weekly check in!

Are there any certain fitness posts you would like to see?

Kayla

IMG_1843.JPG
Currently, 7 months, 3 weeks postpartum - 133 pounds

IMG_1857.JPG
Right before delivering - 178 pounds

Sort:  

keeps these posts coming!!

Thanks so much! :)

This is pretty cool. I admire your drive. Great work.

Thank you! I'm definitely trying!

I'd like to see your training splits and whatever type of cardio you're doing. Also maybe a full day of eating. I think you look absolutely phenomenal! So inspiring.😄😊

You got it! I will work on it :) Glad you like it!

Wow. Going from competition, to pregnancy, back to competing is some dedication! I'm counting macros right now which is going pretty well but the sweets are killer...

Maybe post some ideas or recipes about healthy/macro fitting sweets to make! I'd love to read up on that :)

Thank you very much! Sweets are my weakness too. I will work on some macro-based healthy sweets! I have a few recipes that I can start putting up. They have saved me multiple times :).

CONGRATS To YOU!

Thank you! Definitely trying!

Awesome post! Lacey just mentioned a Segment she will be doing on steemit in her last post!

Thats great! I just read the post :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89