How posting on Steemit paid for my flights to a South African Adventure!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Hello Steemians!

I am in awe of the fact that I will be able to travel halfway around the world to South Africa to share my passion for biking, and this trip is made possible thanks to the Steemit Community and the wonder called the Steem Dollar!

3 months ago I received an email stating "Your invited to ride along 5 other riders from around the world on a 12-day tour of South Africa - We love what you do and we are hoping you can be a part of this tour";

I was so glad to even be considered for such a tour. I was so excited that I could already see myself riding alongside rhinos and elephants, interacting with different groups and tribes and enjoying a meal with them.


Source

I soon had to stop my mind from wandering and dreaming big. Because deep within I knew I couldn't go, I had rejected similar offers in the past, due to lack of funds. As you all know that flights can be very expensive these days and costs can quickly add up.
So I decided to tell the organisers that I wouldn't be able to join them on the South African Biking Adventure.

Disappointed but yet carrying on with my daily life, was when I was, introduced to Steemit a month and a half ago. I had joined Steemit with no intention to make money but to share my wonderful travel experiences and to show the community how beautiful my country India is, through my posts and to talk to like-minded people and gain knowledge.

For the minnows on Steemit wondering just how I did it!


I have been fortunate enough to gain 500+ followers in a month on Steemit and have earned rewards for doing what most other people in the world do throughout their day.
Steemit rewards you for blogging, voting and commenting on the blogs and comments of other users. Through Steemit users can earn performing activities similar to those on Facebook and Instagram.

These STEEM tokens or SBDs can then be bought, held, or sold in a wallet on the Steem blockchain or on a number of cryptocurrency exchanges.

So, with @firepower guidance and me not wanting to loose out on another great opportunity. I decided to take some of these rewards and purchase my flight tickets!

I sent 300 SBDs to Bittrex. Then sold these 300 SBD's for Bitcoin and then sent the Bitcoin to my wallet @zebpay which supports Indian Banks. It took a whole day for the entire process. But I didn't believe it would work until I received a message on my phone that said Rs36,000 has been credited to your account.
I booked my flight and wallah I get to finally live my dream and for this, I'm ever so grateful to all you Steemians that supported me.

I'm just doing what most people do on a daily basis on Facebook, Instagram or any other social media platforms. The decision to do the same things on Steemit has given me the opportunity to purchase a plane ticket for free and it didn't even burn a hole in my pocket.

So fellow minnows what are you waiting for? invite your family and friends to this amazing platform where everyone is so supportive and with the right content, attitude, and motivation you will be able to achieve your dreams.


My rider friends that are signing up on Steemit

As an appreciation to my followers for their support, I will be posting a 12-day blog series of my riding adventures in South Africa.

So stay tuned and Steem on!

😊😉

Sort:  

Enjoy , welcome in africa

Thank you. I'm there only in August

U are welcome, I'm from Tunisia south africa

This comment has received a 0.09 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This comment has received a 0.13 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hamzaoui.

This is cool @bikergirl
It's refreshing to know that Steemit is making waves all over.

.. Pls do stay in touch for updates.

Thanks a lot @mcekworo... Yeah, Steemit is creating waves all over :)
Sure will do

The power of believe! You believed, you did now you are going to SA! Congrats. Looking forward to you next post from SA! Good luck and be safe. If you have time take a look at my intro post and follow me...enjoy!!

Yes i always have Faith... Thank you so much :)

I'm so glad that you able to go for this trip and your passion for sharing your travel with this community gets what you deserved. You set a good example for all of us.

Thank you :) I'm so happy to get this opportunity all thanks to the Steemit community.

Congrats @bikegirl!I've started to use steemit instead of facebook or instagram because here I am not wasting my time :)

Thank you @emanuel.tanasa... Steemit is the best :)

This is the dopest story I have ever read. It's so inspiring. You took me to a whole new level of blogging passionately on steemit. You gave me motivation to do well so I can fulfill my dreams of traveling outside of my country. :) Congrats! <3

Thank you :) Steemit allows you to fulfill all your dreams with you just work hard and post good content

Great going @bikergirl. I know what you mean, doing stuff we usually do on other social websites and get rewarded for that - how can it be true? It sounds too good initially. And well, convincing people is the hardest. But all we can do is try! I just won a contest too, and the prize blows my mind.
All the best for your journey, and followed you to read about your journey!

Thank you @jznsamuel... you should write about the contest you won :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63768.98
ETH 3410.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49