Keystone Habit -- Acceptance

in #life7 years ago

Habitsarrows.jpg

Keystone Habits

A keystone habit is simply a habit which creates a focal point upon which other habits can be built.

You probably have seen an old brick archway. At the top of the archway is an angled stone known as the keystone. The archway was unable to be self-supporting until the keystone was placed.

stone-archway-1069983_960_720.jpg

In a similar manner, a keystone habit is a habit which creates a doorway to your future and supports the growth of new, better habits in your life.

PandaStripe.jpg

The 1st Keystone Habit: Acceptance

When you set out to change your life, one of the first keystone habits you can develop is the habit of acceptance. When we begin to make changes in our life by changing our habits, we often try and suppress the old way of thinking. This won't work.

Our mind, when we try and control its path, will immediately begin to flow towards what we are suppressing. Let's take the example of trying to lose weight. To do so, you know you will need to eat less and exercise more. In our scenario, let's say you choose to focus on eating less.

mind.jpg

What happens? Immediately you begin to think of eating more. You try and control your thoughts but they come back stronger and stronger. Instead of trying to control your thoughts, accept them.

Realize the thought isn't the problem. The problem is how you respond to the thought. Accept that your mind and body are still traveling the path of your old habit. Whenever you think of eating, tell yourself simply, "I realize my old self thought of food in an inappropriate way that wasn't beneficial to my overall health. I accept this thought and now choose to think of food in a way that will benefit my overall health."

By allowing your mind to express the thought, studies have shown that over time, the thought becomes less intrusive and less primed for action. In other words, we declaw the poor thought pattern by accepting it and replacing it with a better thought each time it enters our consciousness.

PandaStripe.jpg

Acceptance Allows a New Future

You can rewrite your future by developing keystone habits. The first keystone habit is Acceptance.

By telling yourself, "I accept these old thoughts, but I choose not to act on them right now," every time you experience the old thought pattern, you will begin to build the mental fortitude to create the life you really want to be living.

path.jpg

Sometimes the path we are on feels lonely and deserted. Take hope in the knowledge you are able to create any future you desire as long as you make the choices that will lead you to that future.

A better destination comes from better choices

PandaStripe.jpg

Follow me, @bigpanda, for more life hints and tips.

**Images used are labeled for free reuse from Pixabay

**Many of the ideas are taken from my book Master Your Habits: 5 Simple Steps to the Life You Want (Personal Success Library Book 1)

Sort:  

What nice posts you have. Very encouraging. I am also on my third post on my daily attempt to make one everyday, I really think people nowadays needs to know that there are new things around as far as selfsufficiency is concerned, light the world FREELY I can say.

I guess this will be my ACCEPTANCE stage? Haha, you know why? Because I really do not like writing. Regards, and thank you for people like you here.

Keep pushing forward @lightingmacsteem. I think you will even surprise yourself at how much you accomplish.

Thanks man. I just posted my 4th post, I dedicate this for people as encouraging like you here. I will continue Sir, how I wish this platform is here 6 years ago........

Yes, I agree. Accept the old thought and push forward with the new thought.

This post is definitely a good one, just understanding the entire process of how the mind processes our thoughts will help us be more successful in changing our habits and reaching our goals.

Absolutely agree @kimharris. Thanks

Love this quote, "A better destination comes from better choices". Great stuff.

Thanks so much.

Great post before bed :) Thanks for sharing and awesome motivation #keepsteemin

Thanks for stopping by and best of dreams.

This post has received a 0.78 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

muy buena publicación me gusto de verdad, buen post sigueme y vota por mi gracias desde Venezuela !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50