Pay it forward! Tip your wait staff! Do for others!

in #life5 years ago

Simply being kind and saying thank you and please while being served is not only right but can actually get you some free stuff =D win win if you ask me! Imagine that? Tell someone working hard "Can I get xyz please" and then say thanks and see they hand you some employee discount coupons or even have the manager hook you up! Order a small and get a large =D it's good for business provided it doesn't hurt their bottom line and gets you back in the door again win win win! Smart business owners know this that is why loyalty programs exist! I was just raised you hold doors for people, you offer to help someone who is fumbling around with their things, you say please and thank you, you tip at least 20% (I'v been known to tip the bill which is really what I strive to do since I know most tip based jobs earn less than min wage and rely on those tips). It really is just being a good person! Take it or leave it for what it is. I watch someone not even leave a tip after being rude after their server being so nice and trying to make their experience good. Some people just are so ungrateful and others SO grateful. I don't eat fast food very often but last time at Wendys I gave them a $10 tip omg they upgraded everything and handed me like 50 free coupons for frostys that usually are only for promotions. I didn't expect anything I just know they work hard for at or about min wage 2am serving rude annoying people. It's just paying forward in my eyes. I once had my card declined during a layover after ordering food and I was so upset I didn't know what to do I had no cash and felt terrible I thought I'd miss my flight and be stuck there till I figured out how to pay, my server paid my bill. I'll never forget the amount of concern he had for me, I felt so bad I think about it every time I am out how hard they work for so little and how caring most are for their guests. I even told him he didn't have to do it and he insisted and I practically fell to tears and thanked him a hundred times before leaving. I had the money, my bank was closed and saw it as an unauthorized charge so it got declined. My lesson learned was always have some cash while traveling AND always help out the people who serve you when you can. Such a great guy he wouldn't even give me the information to send him the money back so I told him I'd pay it forward! To this day I have stayed true to that and do my best when I can to help people working hard to better their lives and helping others =D I felt bad at the time, but I feel good about the experience now because I kept my word of paying it forward and never having to be in that situation again!

Sort:  

The work related to dealing with the public is frightening, I spent some time in several call centers, they treated me like shit, but I tried to give my best in each call, it's like you say, to be grateful, kind, kind, humble. A teacher said that being humble opens all doors to success

Yeah anyone who has to deal with people daily know this all too well. It isn't like you are yelling at the CEO who made the issue you are dealing with. It isn't like 99% of the time the staff didn't try to make things right. I'v found you get a lot further by being nice. "Let me check on that for you I'm sorry you are having this issue." "Oh thank you so much I know it isn't your fault you guys really do a great job thanks for taking a look I hate to be a bother" THOSE are the ones who get what they want 99% of the time!

Great story and applies here greatly on Steemit!

If you see read great content, please do upvote it! We are one big community :)

I always do and I agree 100% the best way to do anything in life and here is to pay it forward and help others!

My tip with upvote for serving your words of wisdom!

Congratulations @bigdeej! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 510000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 520000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10