You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Moment for Wonder

in #life6 years ago (edited)

We homeschool & the point you're making is one of the reasons why. It's kind of funny, I get these "robo-calls" about student loan forgiveness. I've all but given up on being placed on the do not call list, as this has been going on for years. So these days I hang on just long enough to ask the caller, once again, to place me on the do not call list because I have never, nor will ever, pay any other man for learning when all the information of the world is available for free in my pocket. I just wish I could get my portion of the property theft that goes to fund the local "government" indoctrination camp that our boys will never darken the door of.
I loved my years in the "government" indoctrination camp. My Mom used to use it a way to gain control of me "If you don't behave I won't let you go to school tomorrow!" I would straighten up directly. It had a better effect than threatening to tell my Dad when he got home. However, even at that young age, I looked forward to the day I would be a dad. Whenever someone asked me "What do you want to be when you grow up?" My response " A dad." When pressed for a job I wished to pursue, as was the intent of the question, I would eventually give in & answer "A teacher." But in the back of my mind, I was inferring that it will be my own children I teach. I knew I didn't want my children going to school. Even with my love of learning, I had no intention of sending my children to someone else for an education. So I committed to a habit of self-education, partly to prepare for this role as teacher. My Dad encouraged me by saying "He who educates you controls you. Who do you want in control of your life? Then self-educate." My parents homeschooled me & sent me to the "government" indoctrination camps. I was bullied quite a bit until I stood up for myself, that was the best thing I ever learned at school. Anyhow, the internet was the best thing that ever happened to our family. We can, & do, learn whatever we want, whenever we want...for FREE (or the cost of an internet connection). There's a lot more to this story but, I'll leave it there for now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 61420.98
ETH 3276.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47