Giving her time

in #life6 years ago

I have always believed very strongly in giving back to the community in which you live. I feel for instance if you don't like the school in your community, get in there and change it for the better. Don't just send your kids to a private school or another school. I think we all should step up and volunteer to make the world a better place.
Ever since Maya started kindergarten I have been involved with the girls schools. My girls have given up a lot because we were so involved in the schools but I really wanted them to value education and to value the community in which we live.

( Maya when she was 5)
My daughter Maya is 16 and she made me very proud when she volunteered on her own. She volunteered for a crop hunger walk.
Crop Hunger walks are about making sure that communities around the globe have access to sustainable food and water. According to my daughter this organization has been fundraising since the late 60s. I had never even heard of them.

Maya said after they set up for the race, they ran activities for all the people that walked. She said she chose her activity because she wanted to make people aware of what's going on in other parts of the world. Maya explain to me about" river blindness disease" whereas people are walking barefoot to get water, they catch this parasite and it makes them go blind. She said they still have to carry the water back and forth. So they created a little makeshift river and blindfolded the participants and have them walk back and forth barefoot carrying water so they could really understand.

I am glad to see some of what I have been trying to teach her snuck through! I am proud of Maya because she volunteered her entire day and gave up work. She passed on about $150. Proud mom. Life is much more important than money.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75