Checklist: Do you know how to do all of these "grown up" things?

in #life7 years ago

19894483_1630165726995120_1991086889_n.png
There are a lot of things we aren't taught at school, yet are still expected to know. Many people question why formal education doesn't focus more on life skills, and I would have to agree with them. I have just finished eighteen years of formal education and yet I had to Google the basics of income tax recently, simply because I had never been taught about it.
I've never been shown where to find the proper resources to learn "life lessons", all of those little things that make everyday adult life a little bit easier. I feel like it's left me with only one option- I'm making my own resource. I've decided to write a book with instructions and advice on dozens of things that are handy to know, all in one handy place so that it's always nearby when you need it, rather than trying to find a decent answer on Google every time you're unsure of something.
Here's a list of some of the things I'll be including:

  • How to do taxes
  • How to write a CV
  • How to find a decent place to live
  • How to cook basic recipes
  • How to understand the symbols on your washing machine
  • How to unclog a drain
  • How to get over a hangover
  • How to find a GP
  • How to apply for a visa
  • How to register to vote

What are the things you feel should be taught to young people, but for some reason aren't addressed in education? What do you think people should know how to do before making their own way in the world? What are some of the things you wish you'd been taught before you had to learn the hard way?
I'd love to hear from as many people as possible in order to make something really useful for people, so please resteem this and let me know what you think!

Sort:  

Let's see...

How to do taxes - Took accounting in High School. Yep.
How to write a CV - Sort of. Typically still look them up on Google to make sure I'm doing it right.
How to find a decent place to live - Questionable. I've never had an issue, but I also don't feel I know EVERYTHING to look for.
How to cook basic recipes - Put raw food in pan. Add cheese. Cook until not raw. Done.
How to understand the symbols on your washing machine - They seem pretty explicit to me...
How to unclog a drain - Poor in baking soda, add vinegar, plug drain, fill area with hot water, unplug drain and let hot water carry away all the junk. Works for most situations. Otherwise likely need to call a plumber cause the kid flushed a spoon again.
How to get over a hangover - Not sure. I hear eggs and electrolytes work. I know how to AVOID hangovers in the first place, so I've only ever gotten one.
How to find a GP - Where is this a hard thing to figure out?
How to apply for a visa - Not actually sure, I've never traveled to places where I've needed one.
How to register to vote - Check the box on my tax return. Super easy in Canada.

I'd say one very important thing that should be taught is how to research your local representatives. It's great that you've registered to vote, now you need to educate yourself so you don't vote for someone that wants to kill kittens. Doesn't matter what your ideology is, you should be looking into the record of your available candidates and make an informed voting decision based on your philosophy.

Best of luck on your book!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68625.09
ETH 3746.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76