Daily Quote #7 - Hell Yeah or No

in #life6 years ago

no-more-yes-hell-yeah-or-no.jpg

"If you can't decide, the answer is No." ~ Naval Ravikant

For the first time in my life, I was getting small glimpses of burn out.

I would find my eyes starting to blur by 10pm, working at my computer screen.

I would start future planning for the weekend and splurging on food because hey, I deserved it.

Thankfully, I caught it early on.

I read multiple accounts of burnouts on the web and it often says something like this:

"When you overwork yourself, you start substituting pleasure for real happiness such as close relationships and small things in life that bring joy.

You start drinking more, partying more, etc. Feeling the need to compensate by being equally lavish on spending as you do by earning it."

Suddenly the type A personality mantra "Work hard, play hard" started to have a different meaning for me.

This wasn't something I wanted

At the right pace, I find work enjoyable, but not like this.

Looking back, what led me to that moment was saying yes to too many things without considering the real_ amount of time it takes to complete them.

Often times, it's the decisions we are too quick to make that f*cks us up in the long run.

Best practice I've found is to say no if you're unsure.

And if there's a window of time to decide, think about it carefully till the last day before you make a decision.

Most of time, it's the best decision there is.

Image courtesy of The Curated House.


This is a series about breaking down and applying short ideas / books / quotes found online, in books, Twitter, wherever.

There's something magical about quotes and short tweets. It exemplies that writing doesn't have to 3,000 words long to be profound.

The best advice I got for writing is that whatever advice you dispell has be memorable and actionable.

Memorable = very easy to remember (usually a vivid story / something short)

Actionable = something people can put into practice (action reinforces the quote even more)

What's one of your favourite quotes / essays? Let me know in the comments and it will be in the next post!

Sort:  

Truly empathise, Ben. I have been there and still struggle with it till this day. But, like you said, I recognise the signs better now, and can take a step back more often and say no. Mostly, I find being honest with myself and other people about how I feel has helped a lot. I like your insightful posts :)

Glad that you found it helpful @sueannelim :)

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.23
ETH 2913.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31