Preparations for my annual proficiency-check

in #life6 years ago

image.png
© Textron Aviation

While working really hard on getting all the new Steemify server code tested before the next release, I have a week full of study and training ahead of me.

Every year, I have to take a skilltest to keep my pilot's license valid. It consists of about 1,5 hours of simulator flying, while being assessed by an examiner. When actively flying for an airline, it's actually every 6 months!

Last year, I had not been flying for 5 years so that was a tough one to pass. With proper training though, at least I was well prepared. This time, it has been almost exactly one year since my last flight. I will be training for three days in a simulator to get my flying skills back to the required level.

I used the better part of the afternoon to study charts and speeds and power settings for the aircraft (sim). It's a Beechcraft Super King Air B200 simulator, which models all the aircraft systems and flying characteristics in detail. As simulator time can be very expensive (sometimes even more expensive than flying an actual aircraft!), preparation is very important.

IMG_2914.jpg

Tomorrow I will relax a bit and spend some time with @mlvanderwaal, and the rest of the week I can focus on the training and exam.



"my" former aircraft, a Beechcraft Premier I


Me and my fellow blockbrothers are a witness as @blockbrothers. If you want to support us we would appreciate your vote here. Or you could choose to set us as your proxy.

Vote for @blockbrothers via SteemConnect
Set blockbrothers as your proxy via SteemConnect

As blockbrothers, we build Steemify, a notification app for your Steemit account for iOS.
Get it Here:


Sort:  

good luck, wow you are a pilot..nice

All the Best Ben @bennierex, You will Pass with Flying Colors !!!

Good to keep your skills up to standard. We need you for our trips in the near future;) Good luck passing your tests buddy!

Good luck Ben and I wish you two a very nice day tomorrow.

Thanks, enjoy your time in France!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61649.11
ETH 3003.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77