A Wounded Dragonfly (true story)

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Once, when we lived in Florida, my ex wife and our small child called me out to the deck of the house where we lived. There was a wounded dragonfly, flying very loudly round and round in wide panicky circles because one of its wings wasn't working properly.

I caught it and held it and spoke to it, in what I hoped was a reassuring voice, until it had calmed down, and once it did, it didn't try to fly again. It clung to my clothes or to my body, wherever I put it, and just stayed there. Later, once it had got used to us, also to my ex and our child.

It was really large, maybe 4 or 5 inches long, a bright neon green with gigantic iridescent eyes and wings. There was a wound on its side, just where the wings met the body.

When we went to sleep we left it in a large jar with some vegetation and some water. We may have also put some dead flies or mosquitoes in there in case it got hungry, I don't remember.

In the morning, it was there, still alive, ready to be picked up and admired, and to ride around on our bodies.

Some time later in the day, when I paused to take a look at it, I noticed that it seemed to be looking back at me rather intently. It was perched on one of my fingers. I raised my finger to my face so that I could meet its gaze, and after a long moment it grabbed my nose with its front legs. It pulled itself, and my hand, right up to my face with its legs, less than half a centimeter, but with a strength I wasn't expecting. I remember the sensation of it - its feet were sharp and dug into my skin, stinging just slightly. It brought its face right up to my face, and we stayed like that for a moment. Then it let go.

And when I moved my hand away from my face, it took off and flew!

©2018 Bennett Italia

Sort:  

This is so beautiful!

It's like he was thanking you for caring for him and telling you goodbye.

Now I'm all teary-eyed!

:D I know I loved it.

Believe it or not, that's not the only time I've had something like that happen with a dragonfly! I'll tell the other story at some point...

that is such an amazing story! Thank you so much for sharing it. It would really inconvenience the control system if we all knew that every creature has a consciousness and a purpose, and we can interact with other consciousnesses and it will benefit and deepen our lives ... this is such a great example of that... I gave a duck cpr once...

WOW! You gave a duck CPR? That's incredible, how do you even do that? Did it survive?

I definitely agree btw. Not only interspecies communication, but learning to develop and use psychic communication techniques between people would change a lot about the ways we relate to each other and the world.

following you :)

I really like this idea. Have you seen the work of the animal communicator? Look her up on youtube. I think it's a good idea to do with humans like you said...

I was a kid - about 12- and I found this duck upside down in the water kicking it's legs on the beach of the bay my dad's house was on- so I fished it out of the water and blew the water out of it's beak. I kept it with me all day. At the end of the day though I had to leave it on the beach because I could not bring it in the house. I am not sure what happened to it after that... it was gone in the morning.

awww... that's amazing that it stayed with you all day after being rescued! So sweet :)

Dragonflies are really special & I do think they really are that smart to have moments with humans like that. We get swarms of them where I live in New Zealand. One got stuck in our wash house and was panicking too, we managed to get it after a while and as soon as it flew off another dragonfly flew out from a hiding place to greet it as if to say "where have you been man" and they both flew off together. Also that photo is amazing what camera did you use? They're so lovely!

:D oh I love that, what a beautiful story <3

Yes, I think dragonflies are amazing, I've had several interesting interactions with them!

Aaaand... oops. I just realized I didn't give an attribution for the image, it was from pixabay! thank you for the reminder. Here it is: https://pixabay.com/en/japan-natural-insect-dragonfly-3029432/

I do have numerous photos of the dragonfly from the story somewhere... they may be on an external HD. If I can find them, I'll edit them in :)

Thanks for the comments and story, following you :)

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @bennettitalia to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65668.23
ETH 2619.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65