You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Optimism at the End of the World 0 : BE AWESOME - A new community based around a desire for deeper connections and shared values

in #life7 years ago

There are so many good things about what you are trying to do here. I wonder if the chainbb tool might yield more focused discussion, certainly on specific topics. Once communities comes out on Steemit, perhaps both will be valuable and help you realise your goal. I would be honoured to be involved and a part of such a community. I've been trying to help and do something positive in crypto for a while now. I found a home in supporting dan's projects and the communities that have sprung up around them. It has been difficult though. Time has always been a limiting factor to the level of commitment I can make and the amount of involvement I've been able to have. I've not been able to get directly involved in many incredible efforts, like fuzzy's Beyond Bitcoin for instance. I've just kind of done my own thing along the way. It's no great loss as far as I'm concerned because i do not contribute to the code, the tools which make all this possible. I just try to help people think how these tools can change things for everyone.

So with that said, I'm in for as much as I can be if you'll have me. ;). I would dearly like to meet someone from bitshares or steemit one day! That is one way that I would feel more connected. I need to see faces, to shake hands :). With my work and home life at the moment, that is not possible but one day!

Sort:  

I have yet to check out chainbb. I will get on that. Reading this got me thinking that maybe this chat can become a supplement to the communities function, or a place to hang out before it takes off.

The coders need people like us to help them to realize their visions. We are coders in a way too, we code the social environment to try and bring out the best that human nature has to offer.

I'd also like to meet a whole bunch of people from this community. Meeting through the internet is strange, sometimes we get even closer than we are with people in our 3D lives and there is still so much that we can't feel because we can't see the other persons eyes and expressions.

That is on my list of reasons to do well for myself on here, so I can go meet everyone. And you are high on my list of people I'd like to meet :-D

I've been thinking, as well as having a general chat room where people can dip in and out, what you need is some kind of trigger for a chat with a specific subject matter that can act as the fulcrum around which those interested can get to know one and other. So perhaps you make a post about a date, time and subject matter (maybe a brief summary of the last discussion) so that everyone can meet in the chat room and you do that maybe once or twice a week.

On chainbb, the discussion will be stored in the blockchain which is a benefit but is less of a direct chat which is less appealing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67344.10
ETH 3749.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69