"I believe the children are our future"

in #life7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5973.JPG

"I believe the children are our future
Teach them well and let them lead the way
Show them all the beauty they possess inside
Give them a sense of pride to make it easier
Let the children's laughter remind us how we used to be." - The Greatest Love of All, Whitney Houston

As a species, we really are failing our children. How many have been killed or irreparably damaged for the elite's wars this year? How many are unemployed? How many have had their future strip-mined by the bankers? How many have been poisoned by the "food," chemical and drug companies. How many have been undermined and lied to by those that control their education and the flow of information? How many have been exploited, abused and raped? What do children really know of freedom?

I think any sane human being would agree that we can and must do better. By letting the children's laughter remind us how we used to be, by saving the children's laughter before it is too late, we save ourselves. We can save everything and everyone by living, working and thinking for them.

IMG_5974.JPG

Steemit and Steem bring integrity back to money, to networks, to reputation and to information. I was dreading my children growing up and probably wanting to use social media platforms like Facebook. I despise Facebook and everything it represents....no matter that I'm sure many people have had a relatively good experience with it. But Steemit and Steem, with everything related to it are something else entirely. Integrity lives within Steem and the Steem community and everything it touches. I can't wait to show my children Steemit and Steem, to teach them the true value of money, decentralised governance, decentralised networks, reputation and community.

Sadly, if there is one word I would use to describe all youngsters of today, it would be insecure. Who can blame them? We don't teach them well, we don't show them all the beauty they have inside and we don't give them a sense of pride. For the majority, almost everything they are taught or exposed to undermines them physically, emotionally and mentally. What have they really got to look forward to in their future?

If you are thinking "well this is all quite depressing" I apologise. We can't afford to sugar coat these realities any more. But! There is hope! So much hope now! If every Steemian introduces their children to Steemit and Steem, to all the opportunities to build, connect, earn, learn, secure, they can all have brighter futures and the effects will compound!!

It won't be long before there is a drastic reversal in the diabolical descent into madness we are all witnessing. Humanity can begin to address the issues it faces constructively, with care and respect, in peace.

"And if by chance, that special place
That you've been dreaming of
Leads you to a lonely place
Find your strength in love."

IMG_5975.JPG


Happy Steeming

Sort:  

hi @benjojo , you are right , being a parent is a tremendous responsability !
I start posting on Steemit in January, introduced my wife @nattanath , who stopped using FB and enjoy now posting on Steemit (but it took 2 months), spent 5 months to convince my son(15yrs) @irigon to join, opened an account for my 9 months old daughter @littlewhale ! Now all the family is on Steemit. I love your quote : "" If every Steemian introduces their children to Steemit and Steem, to all the opportunities to build, connect, earn, learn, secure, they can all have brighter futures and the effects will compound!!""
Steem on !

Thank you bud! Wow, you actually succeeded in getting them on! Well done. Once things have calmed down with my baby daughter, i'll be turning the heat up and doing the same! :)

I am child! Agrees with you! I am my mother's future! Ha- ha-ha!
This words for good day and your mood
And I want to give you a poem good word!
As arrows fly,
Days your will not regret,
Do a good deed
For the happiness of the people.
In order to heart blaze,
And was not in the mist
Do a good deed
So we living on earth!

Thank you so much for adding your beautiful poem to the post. You've made my day.

Beautiful post @benjojo! growth ideas!!!

Thank you arcaneinfo!

What a wonderful writing. I love it sooooooooooooo much. Yes, the brightest future is slept in the mind of our children. Just awake them by teaching in the proper way.

We will have the the world's most worthwhile knowledge eventually at our finger tips within the steem chain with which to educate all our children. It's an awesome thing! I'm really happy you liked the post royalmacro, thank you.

This was the song we sang at my sixth grade graduation. Oh the memories!

Ahhhh that would have been something! I bet there were a few choked up parents! :)

Very inspiring article and parents should take the benefit from such well researched texts.

Thank you for your post in defense of children.
I too am concerned about their future.
We MUST reevaluate the way chlidren are treated in todays society,
I hope you take the time to read my post from today.
https://steemit.com/education/@marymg2014/zero-tolerance-policies-in-schools-a-terrible-idea-that-hurts-children Upvoted and followed

Thank you so much for the support. I will definitely read your post as it sounds absolutely relevant.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of May 09. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $10.62 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: May 09 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93