Hunting for treasure

in #life8 years ago (edited)

I'm coming to the end of my family holiday on the North Cornish coast in the UK. During our trip I discovered a new obsession, hunting for sea-glass!

Sea-glass, as the name implies, is glass that has been worn down by the sea and returned to the shore. It comes in a variety of sizes, shapes and colours but they all have something in common...the satisfaction you feel when you spot a piece.

Generally, smaller pieces are more common than larger pieces. The shape is largely dependent upon the age of the sea-glass, it's size and the grade of the beach sediment around which it is being worn. I like the smoother, rounder pieces and am less concerned about size. Size isn't everything with sea-glass! The most abundant colour is green, then clear, with all the other colours seemingly equally rare. I didn't find a single piece of blue, brown, purple or red sea-glass.

Sea-glass is satisfyingly rare in the context of the amount of other material, certainly in all the places I searched for it. I didn't find a single piece larger than a finger-nail. It's eye-straining, back-breaking work, but unbelievably enjoyable. During my time here, I've spent at least five hours combing the beaches and I can highly recommend it. The whole experience is peaceful and soothing. The coastal setting no doubt contributes, along with being focused on a single, repetitive task.

I caught myself looking for sea-glass in places where you would never find it, like the car park and the path back to the cottage. Obsessed!

Anyway, I hope you enjoyed the short story about sea-glass.

Happy Steeming.

Sort:  

The color of sea glass must be regional. A few years ago, we vacationed in Florida, on the gulf side, and my son was also obsessed with hunting for sea glass. The dominate color there was brown. Clear was much less common and green was completely absent.

Oh wow! I wonder where blue and purple is more common? I'd really like to make a sea-glass rainbow ;))

@benjojo
Sea-glass can be made.
I have a friend that Thumbling stones.
Similar process. You will need a Thumbler.
Break all your colour beer bottles , wine bottles
Put the in the Thumbler , with some silica , of course with different sizes. See Lapidary for natural stones process.

Makes perfect sense. I think I'm more in love with the search than what may be done with the material so I'll just keep hunting I guess :))

Wow. I love the ocean and it's so relaxing.

I didn't know there are so many colors out there.

@benjojo, sorry to hear about the end of the vacation. What beautiful beaches. I'm here in california and the sun can be too much at times. I could go for some UK beaches. I like your sea-glass steemit logo. Enjoy the rest of your day.

Thanks runridefly, the North Cornish coast is stunning...but it can be too cold, wet and windy at times ;)) I'll be sad to leave though!

It's holiday so I understand. I live in the central valley of california and it has been a very hot summer. Just yesterday, it was 99 Fahrenheit. It has been hot for 2 months so I'm excited for the cooler Autumn days.

Beautiful nature!

Stunning sea view on the one before last!

Thank you boddhisattva...it's hard to come even close to doing it justice! ;))

The colors are amazing!

How's the atmosphere there, @benjojo?

i'm not sure what you mean bud :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51