Misconception of Discipline : My story !

in #life6 years ago

Discipline
Discipline !
Discipline!
Here is the entire gist.

I grew up under the watchful and strict eyes of my parents somewhere in the South Eastern part of Nigeria. As a son of teachers, discipline has always been my watchword.

IMG_20171224_174816-1.jpg

By disciplin I meant not going with the crowd.

This made me to boycott things I ought to have experienced as at when due.

Most of the things were social in nature and so it required me to be involved in one or two gatherings.

But remembering the background I am coming from, am always drawn to shy away from such gatherings due to fear of how my parents would react if they found out I took part in one event or the other regardless of its perceived goals and objectives.

I grew up neglecting my immediate environment and it's people,it's culture and history. Unknown to me, I was digging my own grave of social death. In church, I was not motivated to join any kiddies group. In school, I stayed away from extra curricula activities due to the same reason of shyness. Among my age mates, I was the most backward in terms of innovations because I wasn't always in their midst to learn from them.

This way of life sunk into me upto the point of my university education.

In the university, I tried to come out of my shell and act like the other students who engage in different activities in school, activities that are secondary to our primary aim of being in the university which is to obtain universal knowledge. Some went into sports, some went into school politics, yet others joined state associations, promoting their cultural heritage amongst other things. But my usual me would never hunger to belong anywhere.

All I did everyday was to go to lecture, come back, watch TV in the hostel common room and retire to bed. My social life was dead. I managed to graduate with an average result, good enough to secure me a job. I also managed to make few friends in school of which most of them were guys, you bet I had phobia for meeting ladies.

but discipline isn't always not going with the crowd, but niggling with the crowd and still be yourself.

I was introduced to steemit by @iconnelly, yay!!! Am here, watch out for my introduction post.

Please up vote, resteem and

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60777.49
ETH 2913.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59