You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Tough Love Or Parental Investment The Best Route?

in #life8 years ago

I would like to be balling out of control like them

I know everyone has individual goals and desires, but for me that couldn't be further from my mind. I personally feel far too much money is wasted on things that aren't necessary. In no way am I trying to claim that people should have no discretionary money and should give all to the poor, but when you see a Floyd Mayweather throwing his money at essentially meaningless things, when the true value that is other people are dying each day, for me I can't justify the excessive spending.

I love going to sporting events, I know for some they love cars or watches etc. Nothing wrong with that, but I'd like to see more people with incredible amounts of wealth not just use it on themselves. People are far more valuable to me than vip bottle service and the newest rolex.

That's part of my upbringing and values I have been taught, but I most certainly understand the appeal.

I guess it depends more on how people treat money (if it is a God to people they will be corrupted) and less about what they do with it. I'm sure Bill Gates lives in a pretty nice house with some nice things, but also I contrast him to Floyd, who I believe when he dies will be remembered for being a boxer who cared a lot about himself. Maybe he has a charity, but to me that's PR BS so that he can say he cares about anyone besides himself.

I think we both value hard work and what that teaches us about life @brianphobos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60291.00
ETH 2583.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55