Let go of old plans and ideas

in #life7 years ago (edited)

image

One of the most important things for any entrepreneur to do is also the most difficult. To let go of the goals and plans we once formulated and held in such high regard.

I can remember many instances when I had lofty goals, many of the times I was working on projects with other people. One such project was a book project. I had an agent a publisher and was all ready to go but alas this time in my life transmuted into something quite different than I had imagined and the project fell by the wayside.

Years later I would try and reinvigorate the project but I found that the project was no longer imbued with the same life force energy and enthusiasm as it once had before.

For months I tried to stoke myself to continue and to complete the project I would berrate myself for not having completed what I've set out to start. Sound familiar?

All too often we get trapped in the past; we get trapped in an idea, in the way we think things should be. All the while we fail to live in the present moment.

But this raises an interesting question and a very true challenge. For any major project that we set off to complete it's going to take some time. During that time we can expect to change as people: our attitudes can change, our thoughts can change, our beliefs can change, and our desires can change. One of the most challenging things is to stay committed to the project at hand and most importantly, to discern when that commitment should be replaced with something more worthwhile.

There is no shame in quitting a project that has lost its luster. It's the discernment between staying committed to completion versus letting go so that we can move on to the next project which may be the one of greater importance and higher value. To understand which is the route to take can only come through personal intuition, experience, gut instinct and ultimately through practice.

The important thing is simply to engage in the process. Nothing else is really required.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59171.28
ETH 2598.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42