What The F....Swearing Does The Body Good?

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Most of us have heard that swearing may do the body better than originally thought...

Well, another article stating that it does!


Source

The Sun, even though I can't say I like to use this as a news reference, published today that "Swearing makes you 'happier, healthier, more intelligent and honest.'" The Sun also stated that swearing "increases circulation" and "release endorphins" that increase your happiness. Not only that, but swearing can make you more honest to the point of being less likely to lie. As for pain, it has been floating around that swearing can decrease the amount felt, as The Sun stated:

Psychologist Richard Stephens claims his research proves swearing can increase tolerance to pain.

He said students who repeated a swear word were able to keep their hand in a bucket of ice water longer than those who didn't.

He told the BBC: 'As well as the pain tolerance change, participants also showed an increase in heart rate.'


Source

Because I am a Priestess in the EOC, I will share with you our teaching on cursing. From The Gospel of Angelus Domini, this is the official teaching of the EOC:

You can say just about any cuss words you want, and it doesn't bother the Lord, but to 'damn' someone, or to say that someone should "go to Hell", truly angers him, because these are the worst possible things that could happen to a person, and to flippantly wish these curses onto someone, is a very evil act in his eyes.
Satan has tricked people, and made these seem like common phrases, and they are even used regularly on TV as if they are unimportant, when truly, they are the worst form of vulgarity there is.
Love each other, don't damn each other.

Acting in love is the best way, and if we are using anything to hurt or condemn others it is a No-No. It, after all, makes a lot of sense. Many of the curse words have also taken on a new meaning in today's culture. Just look up the origins of the "F" word, did you know that about it? And YES, I am going to make you look it up on your own!


Source

Note: I am not soliciting the website above, but the image was used for the benefit of learning.

So, there are some benefits, but I know you are all wondering where I stand on this matter? Aside from the teaching, I certainly do my best to avoid the 2 forbidden and hateful condemning words as mentioned above. I have, at many times had a sailors mouth... You try working with engineers who throw "F" bombs when the machine doesn't work and try not to swear as well...


Source

I personally do not think it is good to swear around children because I have seen what it does to a child on a personal level from people I've known who raise their children that way. It is the parents choice, so it is their decision, but at least I can control my tongue. When I am in a professional setting or around family, I also do not swear because I do not find it appropriate because it can be very rude and unprofessional. There are times when I'm alone and I stub my toe, or when speaking to a group of friends who swear, it can just flow out easily. I am honestly more of a fan of making up words instead to replace the cuss words. I do try NOT to swear at all, but when I'm alone, I guess that toe might feel a little better if I do...

Be well!!



Gif Credit

Sort:  

@belovebwlight I think you have good info and well prepared before post it on steemit.I like you used good words about it.Thanks for sharing such a great and informative post

I guess it's not so bad the most of the words out of my mouth are swears...lol

Interesting! I've never heard of this before but it does make sense. It's an aspect of self expression.

I do feel that swearing can most definitely be overdone, but at the same time, swearing can also be a way to act more casually and remove filters.

I'll occasionally swear in my blogs. It's not overdone, it's really just that part of me that doesn't want to be boxed into any form of language. I want to be me and express myself freely. Of course I would never direct those swear words at someone, but when its said in a playful, well-intentioned manner, I tend to be okay with swear words.

Great post @belovebelight!

Today I wrote a post about why NOT succeeding early on can be a really great thing. I'd love to hear your thoughts about it: This Is Why NOT Succeeding Early On Is The Best Thing For You

Cheers,

~ axios

Hey there! Thanks for dropping by and giving some of your input. I'm glad you tend to be OK with this subject! Cheers!

Useful information indeed. As long as we don't use the words that will try to send someone to the place of eternal suffering then all is good.

but what if you say "that's pretty damn good!"?

Good question. I am unsure about what golden rule of that is, but I prefer not to use it in my vocabulary at all. It does seem somewhat of an oxymoron because you are almost saying you're damning something good?

it's most definitely an oxymoron.

You got a 0.94% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @belovebelight! Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Well fuck yeah! Swear on <3

@belovebwlight, This is very interesting! Although, I do try to reframe from using swear words in regular conversation to me a person just sounds uneducated. However, I do remember as a carpenter smashing my thumb and it popping like a grape and I often would use a few choice words

delete

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64189.84
ETH 2796.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65