Mindfulness and Meditation

in #life7 years ago

Two years ago, I had en epiphany of sorts. To anybody else, I was a happy, healthy and quite lucky 32-year old woman. I had a beautiful family - two cutest boys in the world and the husband who I was still in love with after 11 years of marriage. We were not rich, but we always had enough money to do what we wanted. Well, almost. It's always almost, isn't it? :)

However, I could never shake off the feeling that I was perpetually in a rush. I was caught in a cycle, going through the motions - happy motions! - yet never quite able to appreciate what I had. It was the oddest feeling ever. Was I ungrateful? Would I be one day punished for my impudent inability to be thankful?

Who knows how long I would be caught in the vicious circle of perfectionism, insecurity, self-blame and never-ending fears, if one starry fall night, over a glass of wine, a friend of mine didn't say:

"Have you tried meditating?"

"Meditating??" I had to stifle a rather impolite giggle. "You mean like sitting on your butt for hours on end, omming my desires to the Universe?"

"Just try it," she gave me a wink and picked up another slice of Gouda.

file-20171002-12163-1y5f6ha.jpg
The photo is the courtesy of www.shutterstock.com

So I did, and oh boy - did it change my life! The first week I did it, the air all of a sudden became as fragrant as it was back that spring when I was sixteen. It was as if someone slowed my life down. I could now stop and smell the roses. Was there really something behind it? Or was I under the influence of some bizarre placebo effect?

As it turns out, there IS a lot of scientific proof behind it. Even though the authority of science in terms of everything related to human brain is quite questionable (because - frankly - scientists are only beginning to skim the surface of this expansive topic), there are some quite interesting facts related to meditation that are worth noting:

1. Your stress levels decrease significantly.
MRI scans show that after an eight-week course of mindfulness practice, the brain’s “fight or flight” center, the amygdala, appears to shrink. This primal region of the brain, associated with fear and emotion, is involved in the initiation of the body’s response to stress.
In my experience, I have noticed that I started stressing out less about things I could not change and began focusing on how I can make my situation better. But without freaking out - if you know what I mean :).

IMG_1497.jpg
The image is the courtesy of High Vibrational on Instagram

2. You become more focused.
As the amygdala shrinks, the pre-frontal cortex – associated with higher order brain functions such as awareness, concentration and decision-making – becomes thicker.
The biggest change I noticed was that I started paying more attention to sweet things about my daily life - my children's cuddles, their laughter, every precious moment of my journey on Planet Earth. And not because I had to - but because I wanted to. I became a better juggler. I realized all of a sudden that I could combine work, family and relaxation without feeling rushed or as if I was perpetually running out of time.

IMG_1460.jpg
The image is the courtesy of High Vibrational on Instagram

3. You need less sleep.
In a highly cited Rutguers University study, meditation was effectively proven to boost melatonin levels by an average of 98%, with many participants showing increases of more than 300%!
Meditation's biological re-balancing enables the perfect amount of melatonin to flow throughout your body, helping you reach a far deeper, more efficient level of sleep.
When your head hits the pillow, deep REM sleep will come more quickly and easily.
That one has been a great help - works great when you are a mother of three children, with the youngest one determined to stay awake half night long :).

IMG_1498.jpg
The image is the courtesy of High Vibrational on Instagram

4. Meditation will help you get rid of your fears.
The relationship between the amygdala and ventrolateral prefrontal cortex is where meditation’s power resides for those who suffer from phobias. As a person processes her situation into words and labels, activity in her amygdala decreases. This decrease in amygdalae activity reduces or prevents the symptoms of panic that she would typically have in response to the stimulus, and it is with meditation that she learns how to consciously process a situation in this manner.
During two and a half years that I have been meditating daily, I almost managed to tackle my debilitating fear of flying. I am yet to see what happens when I board a plane for yet another Transatlantic trip, but if my last ride on the funicular in Gatlinburg is any indication, I should be just fine! :)

5. You are able to better connect with who you really are.
I could not find any scientific proof of this one, but - if you believe the empirical evidence of yours truly - it is definitely the case. Meditation will gently guide you to where you want to be. To where you have always wanted to be. I know it sounds strange, but it's true. I have never been a religious person in the traditional sense of the word, but I now can definitely see what Jesus was referring to when he said, "The Kingdom of God Is Within You."

IMG_1499.jpg
The image is the courtesy of High Vibrational on Instagram

To sum things up, I believe that everyone should meditate at least five minutes a day. You clean your house - why do you think you can leave your mind unattended and cluttered? For me, guided meditations are much easier, because I am still learning. :) If you would like to see what this meditation business is all about, check out my virgin guided meditation for anxiety. I hope you will like it!

Peace and love.
Elena

IMG_1501.jpg

Sort:  

meditation is really good for life . nice bog on meditation.keep it on

Thank you very much! :)) My newly found goal in life is to get as many people meditating as I can lol :).

Wonderful wonderful article! Meditation is truly life changing and you are an amazing writer capable of changing lives. I am doing a hashtag on here called steemeditate, feel free to join in the tagging!

Thank you so much for the kind words :)). I'll be sure to use steemeditate hashtag! :)

Thank you, really this is a very important activity and even more in this crazy life..☺

Thank you so much! :)

really brilliant post @bellydancegirl .Looks like you found your individuality , I willl look out for your posts ,I want to learn more about this .So I can do it well myself

Thank you very much, @sbyse! :)) I'm glad you liked it! And yes - I think everybody has got to learn to meditate! :)

Muxxybot

This post has caught the eye of @MuxxyBot and has been nominated by the curation team.
If chosen it will feature in a curation post by @MuxxyBot.
An image from your post may be featured.
Please reply to this comment if you accept or decline.

I accept! :)) Thank you :)

Hi Elena,

I am practicing Vipassana meditation. There are 10 day courses (residential) all for free around the world. They are quite intense 10hrs of meditation per day, silence, etc, but oh wow - they are so life changing. I really recommend it if you have 10 days to spare. It is so worth it. Check their website out:
www.dhamma.org
I am new to this platform and only posted my intro, but I am planning to write quite a bit about meditation too. With a lot of love and gratitude for you sharing.

Hi Roberta! Good to know :). I'll check their website out :). I don't really think I will have 10 days to spare any time soon, but I will try! Thank you very much for sharing.

So glad you are here on steemit. I’ve tried for years, off and on, to establish a meditation practice. This post nudges me to try again.

Please do, @steemed-open! Don’t give up on the idea :)). I’ll keep encouraging you with more meditations :).

Thank you for this post.
I think more people should start meditating in order to start appreciating little things more and to start being thankful for the gift called life. I was going through a mild depression when I found meditation and kind of "cured" myself, but I was sceptic at first just like you. :)

@alien.nation, I’m so glad you liked the post! I believe that meditation should become an essential part of everyone’s daily life. Maybe then we’d be much kinder to each other - and to ourselves!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68405.60
ETH 2641.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69