South Africa - Beetroot Answers!!

in #life7 years ago (edited)

One of the things that I find rather interesting is the perception that people from around the world have about South Africa. I play a number of online games and it is because of this that I have had the opportunity of interacting with many people from different countries around the world. When they find out that I live in South Africa, they sometimes ask me some of the most fascinating questions.

Here some of the strangest questions that I have been asked about living in South Africa. I will try and answer them to best of my abilities.


Do lions roam the streets of South Africa?

This is one of those questions that many people ask me repeatedly and the answer to this is “No”, lions do not roam the streets of South Africa. They are kept in zoo’s and game reserves. However, there have been several rare occasions where lions have escaped from these game reserves and then ended up on the streets but thankfully, they were later captured and returned to the game reserves unharmed.


laugh.jpg

Image Source : thesun.co.uk


I am planning to visit South Africa, what should I do if I see a lion in the street?

If you are planning to visit our beautiful country and for whatever strange reason you do happen to cross paths with a lion in the street. Just do what any other sane person would do….RUN!... and whatever happens do not climb up a tree for safety. Many people don’t know this but lions are excellent tree climbers, that being said, it is highly unlikely that you would cross paths with a lion in the streets of South Africa. I have lived in South Africa my entire life and I am yet to see one freely roaming the streets.


tree.jpg

Image Source : i.huffpost.com


Are you black?

It is a common misconception that everyone living in South Africa is black. South Africa is not called the rainbow nation without reason. We are a very diverse nation consisting of many different ethnic groups and a host of different cultures and traditions. There are also eleven official languages that are spoken in South Africa, which is further proof of how diverse South Africa really is.


i-dunno-lol.jpg

Image Source : i0.kym-cdn.com


I plan on hiking during my visit to South Africa. Can I make use of the hippo highways while hiking?

Please do not attempt this! Hippo highways are passages created by hippos in the vegetation of rivers and swamps. Hippos travel along these highways in search of better grazing grounds. If you choose to ignore my warning, please make sure you carry your running shoes and some toilet paper because you will most certainly bump into Mr Hippo. Although hippos may look friendly, they are highly aggressive and are responsible for killing more humans than any other animal in Africa, they are also able to reach speeds of up to 30 Km/h while running.


hippo.jpg

Image Source : 0.media.collegehumor.cvcdn.com



I hope this article has addressed some of your questions, if there are any other questions about South Africa that you need answered, please leave a comment and I will surely get back you. I hope that this does not discourage you from visiting South Africa as it is a beautiful country with breathtaking landscapes and wonderful wildlife.


Sort:  

Hi @beetroot.

We do sometime have Lions 'Supporters' roaming the streets but that only happens when their Team wins the Rugby Curry Cup.

Which luckily does not happen too often..

Haha just joking. Great Article.

Haha funny @Beetroot
People often aske strange questions, but I belive it comes from a bit ignoranse against other cultures.
For example since I live in Norway, people, often from USA, ask me how it is to live with the threat of being eaten by polar bears every day....And when i explain to them that there are no polar bears on the mainland Norway, they only live at Svalbard and other Norwegian island near the north pole, they dont belive me??!!???
So I can fully understand your frustration about strange questions :)

gråtele smily.jpg

Kindest regards
@Gyldenhorn

LOL @Gyldenhorn, At first I thought it was just a South African thing but it looks like the polar bears are running wild in the streets of Norway too :-)

Funny @beetroot

Thank you @beetroot! Now the world knows its safe to come visit us!

Very funny @beetroot

Its a nice writeup about safety from animals.

nice post like my post pliszz @beetroot

Thanks, will take a look.

Jammer, maar nou lag ek my gat af. With that being said, yes I have encountered very similar questions @beetroot

So glad to have another highly intelligent beetroot around, sorry still laughing and the tears are rolling now. The pictures to illustrate... well done!

Baie Dankie @joanstewart, I am glad you enjoyed the post. Thank you for the resteem also :-)

All valid questions I guess...😀 😃 😄

Thank you @pjcswart, for the upvote and resteem, I really appreciate it.

You're welcome. And thanks so much for following me and I see you upvoted one of my posts! I hope you have a wonderful day!😀 😃 😄 😁

He he .....thanks for information.....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67