Do Lilies Smell Like Hotdogs?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago

FB_IMG_1515630151244.jpg

I just completed a big move across town. As everyone knows, moving can be stressful. It has been extra stressful in this move because I am newly disabled. As I continued to age and continued to not treat my scoliosis and bulging discs in my spine, this eventually lead to a torn disc. Due to debilitating pain, matched with the inability to lift or bend over, I had to hire movers for the very first time.

As a social worker currently out on FMLA because of my medical issues, it was hard to spend money on something that I used to be able to do so easily. I had been moving from place to place my whole life, without a thought in the world of how I would be able to move my belongings if I was critically injured. Now here I was, searching for a budget moving company that would be able to help me.

One of my very close friends knew that I was going through a lot of stress all at one time. I received a text message from him early one morning, "Did you receive a delivery at your home today?"

Excited and surprised by the gesture, I went down to my Lobby where my Property Manager was sitting with the most beautiful bouquet of flowers next to her on her desk. I questioned if a package or item was delivered for me, and she replied, "These beautiful lilies were delivered for you today. I think lilies smell like hot dogs. Go ahead and lean in, with hotdogs in mind, and tell me what you think."

I wedge my nose into the bouquet of flowers and take in a heavy whiff. The aromatic perfume of the bouquet filled my senses and automatically spread a smile across my face. I couldn't smell hot dogs. I exhaled and tried one more time taking in a deep breath, inhaling the freshness as I felt the pedals tickling my face. Still no hot dogs. With a puzzled look on my face, I replied to the Property Manager, "You're crazy".

I carried the arrangement out to my car and started to drive it over to my new apartment. It would be the perfect home warming gift to really cheer me up about how much stress that I was under. The smells of the lilies started to fill my car. I felt intoxicated by the essence of feeling like I was in a floral shop and momentarily escaped from driving in my Mazda 3. Then, all of a sudden, hot dogs? Wait a minute. Am I smelling hot dogs right now?

This has to be psychosomatic. I must be doing this because she mentioned hot dogs. If she would have never mentioned hot dogs, I would never think for a moment that my flowers didn't smell like anything else besides lilies. I make it to my new apartment and carry the vase gingerly against my chest and up to my new abode. I will sleep on it, and maybe in the morning this hot dog business will be put to rest.

Now this morning I have awoken, and walked straight to my flower arrangement to take another sniff. As I walked closer I smell it. The smell of processed meat and a stadium bun. Is this all in my head, or do lilies really smell like hot dogs?

Sort:  

I've never notice any smell of hotdog in lilies before. I think its in your head.

Well the next time you go to take a sniff of some gorgeous lilies, I want you to remember this. Then come back to this post and let me know what you think LOL! Thanks for posting and hanging out on my feed.

Good luck with your move! I have never noticed lillies smelling like hot hogs before.

I am now aware that lilies are the longest living flower out of all of them. We are going on 5 days of hot dogs in my house.

Oh my lanta! I don't usually get them, although they're my favorite, because they're toxic to cats. I'd forgotten they stayed fresh for so long.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61875.77
ETH 2403.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64