Go, go ,go! Motivate Yourself!

in #life6 years ago

Being motivated all the time is really exhausting.

Almost every Wednesday I slowly lose my motivation. Sometimes it is so hard for me to even get out of bed. I constantly say to myself, that it's only three days to go until weekend. One day it got so bad, that I've even skipped breakfast and had no appetite at all.

Yes, you can say I was depressed, depressed from the same day routine and from being surrounded by the same people, every week, every day.

Something had to change! Of course I could’ve give up my master studies, go somewhere and work something...but I’m sure the routine would’ve hunted me and got me depressed again. Actually I realized, you can run away from people and situations, but you can’t run away from yourself. So the only logical thing for me to do was to get myself motivated by changing my way of living and thinking.

Let’s get self motivated!



1. Have a positive Mindset. Thinking positive is the most important step to motivate yourself. Negative thoughts will only keep you from even trying and will only cause fear. So try to stop that by, for example meditation or do something which relaxes you.

2. Be confident. Never forget to think positive about yourself as well. If you want to know how you can boost your self confident you’re welcome to read my last blog post.

3. Setbacks aren’t bad. As I already wrote in my last post...failure do happen and it’s not a bad thing. Don’t be afraid of failing. Stop letting yourself have a negative relationship with failure, ‘cause failure is an important part of being able to be successful! Seek failure to grow your knowledge, seek failure to improve your skills, seek failure to get to the next phase of success.


4. Set realistic goals. I know that some people say, you can only be super successful when you set yourself lofty goals. But for me, I’m getting even more demotivated when I set myself unrealistic huge goals, which aren't meant to be reached in a short term period. Short term goals keep you motivated because you do actually reach them without waiting for years. Imagine somebody suggested you a good book which is, ten volumes long. Maybe you’ll make it to the third or fourth volume but there’ll be six more to go. Do you get the meaning? If the goal is to high it’ll be much harder to stay motivated. Why not reading a book with 2 volumes first ;).

5. Progress is important, but most important is to track your progress. Review what you’ve achieved. It not only shows you the outcome of your hard work and effort, but also drives your motivation.


6. Breaks are mandatory. We’re not robots, everybody need a break sometimes. Take a break and do what you enjoy. Actually breaks are really important to charge your energy and to get back in balance. You can be more motivated and productive after a break. So don’t let anyone tell you that only lazy people take breaks.

7. Surround yourself with good company and good vibes. Some people can be demotivating, tend to get us off balance and make us think negative, but if we keep good company we’re more likely to get motivated. Friends and family can be really powerful external motivators. They can help us stay focused and in balance.

8. Don’t compare yourself to others. As I already wrote in my last post, comparing yourself to others can really destroy your self confidence. Which on the other hand leads you directly to de-motivation. Never forget that everybody is unique, even if you copy somebody you compare yourself with, you will never be them and they will never be you. So never compare but improve.



Thank you for reading!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 57110.78
ETH 2521.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32