You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living with A Mental Illness-A First Person Perspective

in #life7 years ago

@aghunter that post together with those lyrics made me cry a little bit. It's such a heartfelt post, but it is also genuinely insightful.

I've never experienced anything like what you have just described, but I have been through a time in my life when I questioned every parenting decision I was making and what sort of parent I might become. The constant questioning was emotionally and mentally exhausting, and the question that sat behind everything was "do I actually need to question myself?" For a long time that was the question I couldn't answer.

On a side note that song reminds me of the male version of Greta Ray's "unexpected feeling" I sing these lyrics at my husband when he is driving me crazy (lol) ....

And I know that there are times when I resist your touch
It's cause I never thought I'd disagree with someone so much
Oh, and when we fight, you simply wanna be a winner
And the patience that I had for you was slowly getting thinner
So I tried to walk away
And though I probably should,
It's hard when you look that good
Do you understand why you started falling my way
Since I've been pushing all your buttons from the very first day
That unexpected feeling slapped you right in the face
And it's gonna be a hard one to embrace, so
Stay with me, baby

Sort:  

Those lyrics are great. When I first heard the Smith Street Band song, the first lyrics I noticed were:

When you start crying in the middle of a fight
I never wanna see you sad
But that does not mean that you are right

I of course immediately played them to my wife :)

For my part though, I think that if you don't question yourself as a parent sometimes you're probably doing it wrong!! Gotta be in moderation though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60013.20
ETH 2407.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43